We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome with extra touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffin Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Griffin Guest House to your Saves list
The Griffin Guest House
14, Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Mansfield, England
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Warm welcome with extra touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early evening after a long day. Received a warm welcome and help with my luggage up to room 6. En route was shown the lovely seating area where you could help yourself to hot drinks, biscuits and fresh fruit. A very nice touch. My room was number 6 and had a comfortable four poster bed. There was chocolate on the bed to greet me, which is never a bad thing in my opinion! The room was clean, but I do agree with another review I have read that it could do with a deep clean and better attention to detail in the cleaning department. The shower had long hairs in - definitely not mine! There is a pub opposite The Griffin which appears to be popular all week round. I settled down to sleep by 1030 but couldn't because of the noise in the street from the pub. I realise that many people visiting Brighton will be very happy to be part of the noise, so this won't be an issue at all. I always travel with ear plugs (just in case) and they came in handy. Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice, freshly cooked and served quickly and with a smile. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
199
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Chris and Kieran are warm, welcoming and friendly hosts and from the moment we arrived we felt like a part of the family. My husband and I were celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary and booked room 8 at the very top. We were greeted with a wonderful room with beautiful paintings and fabric wall hangings all done by local artists. The heart shaped towels and chocolate on the bed were a lovely touch and just added to making us feel special. We were given a front door key so we could come and go as we pleased which is nice as there's no curfew to worry about! When we got in after visiting friends at a local pub we climbed into the most luxurious bed, all fresh cotton sheets and soft downy duvet and fell fast asleep completely forgetting to put in our earplugs (they're in the refreshment room next to the tea and coffee making facilities, btw) The seagulls reminded us that we had forgotten at about 4am! Breakfast was stunning! Cooked to perfection with a lovely twist and wonderfully presented. Mark was a very attentive waiter and extremely charming. After breakfast we were able to spend the rest of the morning in the room before 12 noon book out and made use of the jacuzzi bath watching episodes of kojak on the tv, utter bliss and very decadent. All in all, I can't rate the Griffin highly enough. The atmosphere, sophisticated decor and classy surroundings make you feel like your a part of something very special. Well done guys and a massive thank you to you all for an incredibly and absolutely,. wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. Chris & Keiran were great, going out of their way to settle us in, even helping us find parking which can b challenging in this busy, seaside town. Bed was so comfortable. We slept great. Breakfast was really good and i was surprised there were several choices. Location is terrific. Short walk to beach, The Lanes. We loved staying here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This review is written after staying for 3 nights in Room 4 ( four poster bed with in room jacuzzi - 100 pounds a night) We were let down by our first choice of self catering flat in Brighton & Hove so after reading the excellent reviews for this B&B we left feeling a little deflated. Firstly if you've never visited Brighton ( and we hadn't) the terraced house is situated in the very busy seafront region, in fact the observation wheel is at the bottom of the road. We were later than our expected arrival time ( emailed day before and texted the day of arrival stating the changes) no acknowledgment from owners. Parking not a problem even at 6pm in the evening. Every inch of the B&B appears to have been utilisised. The tea and coffee area with inside and outside seating area would suit some but be inconvenient for those not on the same floor level. We found it fine being opposite our room. Plenty of choice with tea and coffee, nice biscuits but plse remember to refresh the bowl of fruit as during our stay this wasnt fresh and was a little off putting. Unfortunately the cat had scratched the Sofas so a little shabby looking ( a shame) On arrival to room 4 I felt the cleaning had been rather rushed and neglected to make the room feel not totally clean ie im sorry to say pubic hairs on step to bath and slightly dusty furniture and floor boards. Old rug ( yes i realise it was once a beautiful vibrant colour!) the decor was a mismatch of styles but adequate. The bed was a dream as I love soft mattresses. The feather and down duvet was far too heavy for summer time so we were constantly throwing it off and on during the night. No top sheet provided which would have solved this problem. Best to leave the floor lighting on during the night in case you forget the step up to the toilet area. The toilet and basin are separated by just an obscured glass door so if you like privacy whilst using toilet your out of luck. Soap dish required in here as no where to place soap after use. The biggest inconvenience was the noise from the busy pub opposite. In winter colder months possibly not such a problem but we enjoyed hot weather so of course doors and windows open so the music and laughter did travel! So still busy late at night. Woken at 7am on our first morning by the delivery and changing of beer barrels and on the third by the bin men!!! By the third night we had found the supply of ear plugs which were located in the guest kitchen / sitting area. No room info but an older book about Brighton itself. No changing of towels or toiletries throughout our stay. We were ok with that as we had our own supplies but some may have found this irritating. Many places have an in room note stating the policy for requesting fresh towels so maybe this could be adopted here. I'm all for saving the planet but don't like to feel I'm being neglected when paying good money. No enquiries as to whether all was satisfactory with our room. Money taken at time of booking. The weather was warm and sunny and this room was front of house so we were overly hot despite the in room electric fan. No full curtains but roman blinds which didn't keep all the light out and the pull chord not positioned correctly so on some needed to be 7foot tall! required. More attention to cleanliness needed to getting rid of dust in radiator and cleaning tiles but nothing a good quality vacum cleaner and steamer couldn't shift. The downstairs front room being the breakfast room and cooking region. There aren't the same number of small bistro type tables to number of rooms so be prepared to wait for seating at times. Breakfast at this time of year served between 9- 10am. If you don't want fruit served next to your hot bacon and eggs you must state beforehand. This breakfast area does attract the morning sun so can become quite warm towards end of breakast period even with the windows open and overhead fan. The two owners stand behind the breakfast bar cooking food ( sorry never did work out who was who) and Mark provided a high standard of service with serving on. Food great with freshly squeezed orange juice and selection good. Special of pancakes etc appear to stay the same but no problem with other selections. Tables rather small so unable to place all required crockery at same time so a little bit of juggling around but not a great issue. We could have selected from the DVD selection but that was after a comment that if we wanted to do that maybe we should have booked into an Eastbourne B&B!! Yes, I know that was humour but to me the owners maybe need to appreciate that not all of their guests are up for all night parties and being woken at 7am. Over two hundred excellent reviews show that many people really love The Griffin but this time Trip adviser research didn't reach it's normally spot on recommendation. Brighton I believe is busy all year round so the B&B businesses can't rely on a slack period to recharge their batteries which is what I think is needed here. It's starting to look tired around the edges but Fortunatley with a bit of elbow grease and a little time this place should sparkle again. Pity you can't move the pub, Italian restaurant next door and the seagulls - but of course everyones expectations are at different levels and possibly what I believe are constructive comments mightnt be those of others. We left "The Griffin" feeling tired and with a long journey home this was disappointing. No business should become complacent.

Room Tip: In summer months Rooms at front of house are noisy all day and most of night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milfordhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On arrival staff were extremely helpful with bringing in luggage up to our room and also with the park facilitys. We were made to feel at home straight away.

Are room was very clean and comfortable with easy access to everything we needed.

The breakfast was superb had a lovely choice and was used with all fresh products. we where made to feel like we were in a 5 star restraunt.

The guest house has easy access to all attractions and was in walking distance away from everything we needed and wanted to see. we could come and go as we liked with our own key for the door.
The coffee area is a lovely idea and is very usefull. we very much enjoyed it.
Overall our stay at the griffin was excellent and it is somewhere we will be visiting regularly when we go to brighton.
amazing service, rooms and food. what more could you want.

Room Tip: Our room was the cheapest room and we were extremely happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Brighton for a short break without the kids. The Griffin was our choice after reading the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. The welcome was friendly, the room was amazing and the bed was extremely comfortable. The heart shaped towels and the chocolate a lovely touch and a pleasant surprise. When it came to breakfast again it was without fault. It is in a brilliant location. We will without a doubt visit the Griffin again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Last minute surprise getaway in such a beautiful room, We stayed in room 4 and loved the ever so comfortable 4 poster bed so much we didn't want to leave it. Finishing touches were excellent, we both loved the heart shaped towels with chocolates and the whirlpool bath in the room was lovely and relaxing.

Breakfast was filling and the sweet savory combo was very tasty.

Excellent location a short walk to the pier and close by to shops and cashpoint.

We will be back for sure :o)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Address: 14, Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffin Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.