We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad weekend surprise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Fields

Save Saved
You added Strawberry Fields to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strawberry Fields
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 - 7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
save 10% on midweek rates
Ranked #48 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Bad weekend surprise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband wasn't feeling well . We wanted to cancel the booking they refused. We wanted to minimise the days . Refused again. Charged all the money at check inn, rooms are not ensuite and me being a frequent traveller booked a double room. Really horrible no sinks in the washroom and good luck trying to take a bath. Did not know it was not ensuite I have never stayed in such a hotel that didnt specify that. This is a hostel but not a place for couple to stay. Sour manger with no sympathy will never stay here again

Room Tip: Don't go for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
As this review is the result of these guests dissatisfaction with LateRooms policy rather than our service and facilities, here at Strawberry Fields, it is therefore a bit disappointing to receive.

This was a prepaid '2nd night half price' offer through LateRooms on one of our budget 'attic' small double rooms with a shared bathroom. When on the day before arrival the guest contacted me to cancel, I explained that as it was a prepaid 'LateRooms' booking the guest must contact them to cancel - as they will still charge their commission fees. As it was inside the cancellation period this was refused by them and the guest stayed with us.

On checking in, as it was clear that they were dismayed to be holding a reservation for a room with shared bathroom, we offered them a complimentary upgrade to the next category or the alternative of a fully en-suite room at a £10 supplement - they viewed all three rooms and chose the complimentary upgraded one.

We provide a full description of all of rooms and are pleased to be able to offer a range of rates to suit all budgets, the room booked, is described on the LateRooms (and our website) as 'Small Double room - Double Bed, Not en-suite - Shared bathroom. Top Floor, Flat screen TV with freeview, WiFi, Tea and Coffee facilities.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    15
    15
    15
See reviews for
6
41
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went on a girly trip away for the weekend sharing a 3 bed room called "Strawberry Sorbet" and we loved our stay in this delightful hotel, with gorgeous views and fresh sea breeze to cure the worst of hangovers. The rooms were clean and really nicely presented with nice comfy beds.The bathrooms facilities were oddly placed but very clean and tidy and fab water pressure. If your looking for a cheap welcoming and well located hotel in Brighton this is just great! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
What a super review - especially for one of our budget rooms.

As you rightly say, these rooms are perfect for a sightseeing/shopping trip with friends and judging by the number of carrier bags - was a bonanza for the local traders - so on their behalf, and on ours; "Thank you for staying at Strawberry Fields".; Come back soon!

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Extremely clean, nicely presented rooms. This is a basic b&b/ guesthouse. However the staff could not be more helpful. I stayed for the London to Brighton bike ride and booked the small double right on top flooras just needed a bed to rest my head. It was small but extremely clean. Some rooms are not ensuite, and toilet and showers are small but immaculately clean. On the second night Jeremy the owner offered to move me to a bigger room as they had a couple of vacancies. They couldn't do enough for me, kindly storing my bike. For a clean guest house as a base to explore Brighton pretty sure there is no where better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
What a really lovely review - it made our day - THANK YOU!

The title of your review sums up everything we are aiming to offer and we are delighted to have made such a positive impression.

We offer a range of rooms at a range of prices so you always have the choice to decide whether to opt for the larger more luxurious rooms or save your cash for the many tempting retail and foodie outlets just around the corner.

We will look forward to welcoming you back
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Strawberry fields is on a beautiful square (from which you can see the sea), just off a lively street about 15 minutes walk from the absolute centre of Brighton, and a 2 minute walk from the beach. We paid £110 for 2 double rooms, meaning that at £27.50 per person this was cheaper than a number of the hostels we'd looked at! The staff were incredibly friendly and check in and out times were very reasonable. We were given a key, meaning there was no restriction on the time we had to return in the evening, or how early we could go out in the morning. The rooms were very clean and tidy, and the strawberry theme added a nice colourful touch. Ours included tea and coffee making facilities, towels, shower gel and soap, and plenty of plugs. The shared shower was small but functional (although for us the hot water was slightly patchy) and the toilet was extremely clean. The extremely friendly staff added the final element to what was overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
WoW, WoW WoW - what a super review!

We are all thrilled to get your lovely comments and it has really 'made our week' to get such lovely feedback.

You are spot on... we aim to offer great service, great value and great location!

It seems, this time we succeeded...

Thank you so much
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staff friendly but this b&b is the worst we have ever stayed in.
Rooms cramped together so u can hear everything going on in the others, paint dirty and tired, blind lets the light in and the bed was wonky.
Shared bathroom facilities unusable - shower in a cupboard so u can't get ur clothes off, toilet dusty, hook lock only and u go back to ur room to wash ur hands.
Should not b charging b&b prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are disappointed to receive this review, especially as none of the issues raised were mentioned by the guests during their stay and we have had no response to our email asking for clarification from them.

From time to time there is a mismatch between the type of room booked and the one expected by our guests. We offer detailed descriptions of the rooms 'Small standard double with shared bathroom facilities' or 'Superior sea view double en-suite' and our rates reflect the room chosen.

Recognising that not everyone reads the full description, if space allows we are always happy to upgrade to the next category and charge the rate difference, however this was not possible on this occasion as we were unaware of the problem.

We pride ourselves on our spotless facilities and customer service and regularly carry out a full 'deep clean' of all of the guest house, as this is a crucial part of the customer experience. We appear to have fallen short of this guests expectations this time but we remain hopeful that they will give us another try.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place is a little gem - it's cheap, so don't expect luxury, but the rooms are reasonably proportioned and nice and clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We stayed here for one night on a weekend away. We had a room with a shared bathroom but the place was quiet so it wasn't any problem.

The location is absolutely brilliant. Near seom top notch pubs and restaurants and only 10/15 mins walk from North Laine and the main shopping area. The sea is 1 minute away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks Bex - what a lovely review.

You are right - there isn't a better location to enjoy the best of what Brighton has to offer and some fantastic pubs just around the corner - check out St James Tavern for their huge selection of Rums, The Ranelagh for great jazz performances and the SideWinder with a great outdoor dining area and a great Sunday lunch spot - all within 5 minutes walk!

Come back soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday for a friends hen do.
We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us the key to our room. We booked a twin roon on the 2nd floor which had its own bathroom.
The room was bright and the stawberry theme was a nice little touch through the hotel.
The bathroom was very small but it served what it needed to.
Very good location and would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to the room so if you arent good with them request a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrawberryBrighton, Owner at Strawberry Fields, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review.

You are quite right - our ensuite bathrooms are pretty bijoux but we hope that the fantastic shower pressure goes some way to make up for the small space. By the way, we also have twin rooms on the ground or first floor so do let us know if you prefer to avoid stairs next time.

See you soon
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strawberry Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fields

Address: 6 - 7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strawberry Fields 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Relax and enjoy your stay with us here in this warm and friendly guesthouse offering Bed and Breakfast in Kemptown, the most vibrant area for B&B in Brighton, our cosmopolitan city by the sea. Strawberry Fields has a great location, sea views from the front and only a couple of minutes walk from The Pier and Town Centre with the Conference centre just a short stroll along the seafront. As the first "B & B" in Brighton to offer "Brunch in Bed," we deliver Hot Bacon Rolls or Smoked Salmon & Cream Cheese Bagels to your room, to enjoy with your morning tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Strawberry Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fields Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Fields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.