We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Fields

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Strawberry Fields to your Saves list
Strawberry Fields
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 - 7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 7 nights save 30%
Ranked #48 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed a few times now at Strawberry Fields hotel. It's in a great location - just minutes from the main town centre, but attached to a delightful side road with great pubs and cafes and some handy shops, and then the sea is just a stroll down the grassy 'square'. Staff are always friendly - especially Sharon the owner! - and I feel very welcome there.
It's a great little hotel in a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    18
    19
    16
See reviews for
9
52
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very clean and comfortable hotel with friendly, welcoming staff. My children thought the hotel made it our best holiday ever. They were most delighted with the strawberry cushions, the red shower gel that matched the theme, the brunch brought to the rooms, but the best thing of all was the fact we'd booked a family room to sleep the four of us, but as the hotel wasn't busy, we were given a twin room next door as well at no extra charge. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Nothing negative to say whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here on 3rd November 2012 for 1 night with a friend just for a weekend in Brighton - our first time. The hotel itself was a bit of a pain to get to only because sat nav does not understand how many one way streets there are in Brighton! However .. once we navigated there we were OK! The hotel itself (like most) doesnt have its own parking but has a parking bay out front which is charged from 8am - 8pm and will cost you around £15 for the privilege! There is free parking as they will tell you at the marina but after 10 mins of driving we still hadnt come to it and couldnt be doing with the bus back so drove back in to found a multistorey on High Street (2 roads away) and this cost us £17.50 for 24 hours. There is cheaper parking near the beach front but this was all closed off due to a veteran car event. DONT FORGET POUND COINS FOR PARKING METERS!! NO SHOPS WANT TO GIVE ANY CHANGE AND WHEN YOU ONLY HAVE A £20 NOTE IT TOOK ME 6 SHOPS TO GET SOME! lol
Anyway, the room itself (No 7) had an ensuite which was compact but did the job. The room was fine for somewhere to get your head down, had tea/coffee supplies and free shower gel and soap each with fresh towels.
They offer Brunch in bed, which was actually better than expected - I had a bacon baguette and it was yum! Bacon cooked just the way I like it and a nice fresh baguette (massive!) straight to your door with fresh juice of choice.
I liked the fact Strawberry fields appeared to be one of a few hotels with a green out front before the other road so it didnt feel so claustrophobic and you had something else to look at other than other hotels! It was practically on the sea front and literally 3 min walk from the pier.
Perfect location, 5 mins into the centre for all the shops and restaurants you could want, 10 mins from Choccywoccydoodah (go to the Bar du chocolat on next street .. yummy cake!)
Had a great weekend, and the hotel was a nice little place to rest your head :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner and I arrived in Brighton without pre-booking. We usually stay around the Kemptown area of the city and saw Strawberry Fields had vacancies. We were shown a lovely clean room with sea views and fully en suite and we loved it. Its very central to town, pier and the nightlife. We checked in for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, the staff very polite, friendly and helpful, good bacon rolls for breakfast with juice and fruit and we had one of the best stays in Brighton in over 12 years. We are heading back to Brighton in a few weeks and will stay here again. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 5 has good sea views and is fully en suite, which is the room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and my friends stayed here on the 14th Sep for 1 night, from the moment we called and booked the staff were lovely and polite. We arrived on Friday for 1 night only (vary rare to have 1 night in Brighton, usually 2) We found it really easy, just past the pier on the left, very easy to find due to the sign out the front with a giant strawberry on it! First impressions, well kept clean and tidy and very pretty. We were greated on the main desk by Anna and wonderful lady who ran the B&B, we were shown to our room, we had No 6 and i was only 2 flights of stairs (small flights of about 6 stairs) We werent due to check in till 4pm, but we were called the night before and asked if we would like to cheack in sooner, we suggested 11am and were told no problem!

The room was small but very clean and pretty, we had a twin room and the window overlooked other houses so nothing offensive i have had rooms worse views! The shower was small but clean and served the purpose well, we had tea/coffee etc in the room and TV with Digital.
We asked directions to a restaurant that night and they were really helpful and gave us a map and talked us through it, we found the restaurant easily which is no mean feet in the Lanes and we are regulars to Brighton.

Breakfast you order that day for next day you pick eith toast, bacon roll with a choice of juice, we asked for it at 9am following next day. They bring it to your room as there is no dining room. At 9am dead on breakfast arrived and was lovely and hot. Breakfast in bed was just what i needed after the night out in Brighton!

We loved this B&B and would definiatly use it again.

All the people on here moaning about it, ignore them!!

We paid £99 and would pay the same again!
We checked out at 11am and

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicino Firenze
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a nice b & b
we were a few days in Brighton and the Strawberry was a really good choice.
I had some doubts about the breakfast in the room which they organize with sandwiches and drinks but I can guarantee that is great and with our children was amazing having breakfast in bed together .
The owners very lovely peoples
Thanks for all

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at Strawberry Fields Bank Holiday weekend with a few other friends. The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing too much trouble. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a twin room with a view of the street behind.My brother and sister in law had a double room with sea view it was a lovely large room which I will definately ask for next time I go. We all go to Brighton every Aug Bank Holiday and although most of our group have stayed at Strawberry fields this is the 1st time we have stayed there.It far better than any other hotel we have stayed at in Brighton (we were in the Travelodge last year). A nice touch is the breakfast Bacon Baguette or Smoked salmon cream cheese bagel (delicious) left at your door at a requested time . this comes with fruit juice toast and an apple. The hotel itself is very centrally located for the beach, pier, restaurants, The Pavillion, and the Lanes. All in all very happy there and will definately return, maybe even before next August !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strawberry Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fields

Address: 6 - 7 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strawberry Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Relax and enjoy your stay with us here in this warm and friendly guesthouse offering Bed and Breakfast in Kemptown, the most vibrant area for B&B in Brighton, our cosmopolitan city by the sea. Strawberry Fields has a great location, sea views from the front and only a couple of minutes walk from The Pier and Town Centre with the Conference centre just a short stroll along the seafront. As the first "B & B" in Brighton to offer "Brunch in Bed," we deliver Hot Bacon Rolls or Smoked Salmon & Cream Cheese Bagels to your room, to enjoy with your morning tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Strawberry Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fields Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Fields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.