We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grey's Hotel to your Saves list
Grey's Hotel
11 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Enfield
1 review
“Brighton Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Never been to Brighton before, What a wonder place. Decided to get to Brighton after a recommendation from a close family friend had a wonderful time.

Husband and wife with teenagers, well we needed to get away for a weekend, decided to review Greys Hotel website, photos descriptions look great, I know it can be deceiving on some sites ,marketing a business, but I can honestly say, it was 'FANTASTIC'.

Terry was a brilliant host, welcoming, helpful, but most of all the place was spotless.
The rooms were of a very high standard, the bedding, covers decor etc were high quality.

Then came Brighton itself, GET DOWN THERE, Start living again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    41
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
235
32
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

When we arrived we were warmly greeted and had our bags carried up. In the end because we had some confusion with our booking (our fault) we actually ended up being kindly upgraded to a superior room which was fabulous. There was a lovely four poster bed, loads of room, a view down the street to the sea and everything was immaculate. The breakfasts were gorgeous, freshly cooked and a wide selection all served in a beautiful breakfast room. The service was really great, friendly staff who were so helpful. Although it's relatively pricey, you could pay a lot LOT more in Brighton and do much worse. Overall, a really lovely hotel, with unique character. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We had a lovely stay at the hotel,the rooms are very well presented,clean.The four poster beds was a joy to sleep in
The full english breakfast was superb,all the produce being sourced from local farms we were informed by the chef
The staff throughtout our stay were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Loved this hotel.

Stayed in cosy single room. My trip was unplanned so i was ringing around last minute. At first i thought it was pricy 85 pounds for one night with breakfast .but they were really flexible -as it does say on the web site,min 2 night stay.

Let me tell you the service is perfect. Owner and staff are so easy going. You are made to feel really welcome. On arrival i was offered a cup of tea-wasnt expecting full pot of tea and short bread(no extra cost). The hotel itself has really nice dark stained furnishings-contemporary bathroom with spot lighting- warm deco-very nice ambience and the bed was really comfortable dressed with light white sheets.

the location is great on the west side of the Brighton pier. Shops and restaurants are in walking distance. The breakfast was well cooked- you recognise the fresh ingredients and fresh herbs. Really like the way chef prepared Portobello mushroom .Pastries are home made, yogurt served in small glass jars-lovely. Hotel provides selection of papers and wireless net.

went away to escape mothers day madness! I felt like London was well and truly behind me. As a solo traveller I also felt really safe in the hotel which is important.

Defiantly recommend Kemp house- if you can afford it, get a large room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

My boyfriend treated me to a weekend at Greys for Valentines day and I think he was as blown away by the experience as I was. The room was beautiful, so luxurious with a four poster bed covered in rose petals. On the pillow was a single red rose and on the bedside table a tray of heart-shaped chocolates. At first I thought that James had arranged all this but later found out that it was complimentary. The service at Grey's is superb and the boys who run it are all great fun and very friendly. Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice of alternatives to the full English. We will definately be back - the sooner the better.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

On a visit to Britain in February we decided to take a couple of days in Brighton, and based on Tripadvisor reviews chose Grey's for our stay. I have to say that there isn't much more I can add to the already glowing reports – the place is every bit as fabulous as they say. The boys work very hard to make you feel at home and nothing seems too much bother. The rooms are lovely and clean with gorgeous, crisp white bed linen, while the breakfasts are simply amazing! Try the eggs benedict!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

On an exceptionally chilly January weekend, Mum and I were delighted to find the warmest of welcomes at Grey's Hotel. Terry and the boys were friendly and anxious to make us comfortable, and we were upgraded to double rooms on arrival. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast outstanding, with free-range eggs, bacon and sausages, of which we took full advantage. I would definitely go back any time.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey's Hotel

Address: 11 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grey's is situated in the heart of Brighton, offering luxury accommodation and excellent service at affordable prices. Our rooms are all individually designed and boast flat-screen TVs, Senseo coffee/tea makers, White Company toiletries and white Egyptian cotton bed linen. We are located just 6-7 minutes walk away from the centre and its many restaurants and shops, and a stone's throw from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.