We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool bed and breakfast in excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kelvin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kelvin to your Saves list
The Kelvin
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Asia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool bed and breakfast in excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We found the The Kelvin by searching for bed and breakfast in Brighton and this one seems good choice. We took the room with private shower which was very nice and comfortable, the room itself was small but the double bed was large and comfortable. Anyway, we were in Brighton for sightseeing and partying and we used the room only for sleeping which was nice. A very nice breakfast is served early in the morning, one day when we over slept we missed it but it is easy just to find out in town many other options for English breakfast. The location of the Kelvin is just about perfect, we could get everywhere just by walking including after checkout to the railway station.

Room Tip: Book the room with toilet and shower if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    30
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
46
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and had a very comfortable and welcoming stay. Rooms are clean and well laid out. They are also bright. We had a peek at the sea from our window. Shaun & Paul are great hosts and the breakfasts are legendary. We recieved lots of advice and even though, I'd imagine, they pass this information on to every guest, they still did it with patience and lots of detail. We appreciated that and enjoyed our stay.There's also a very good Italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

As you would expect, Brighton as a popular destination has a large number of guest houses, and it may seem difficult to choose one over another. The Kelvin has much to recommend it, most of the rooms are spacious and very pleasantly furnished, the en suite bathrooms are clean and elegant and the breakfast is copious and well-served. What distinguishes this guest house from its rivals is the friendliness, constant good cheer and willingness to help of the owners. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Double rooms at the front are more expensive, but worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We come every year to Brighton and have stayed in the Kelvin. It is a lovely hotel - spotlessly clean and the breakfast is just great. It is so close to the seafront and all the local amenities. Would definitley recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in September. The owners were very friendly and cooked a lovely breakfast! I would recommend staying here although as with most B&Bs in Brighton there is a minimum stay of 2 nights at the weekend and for our very small room (no toilet) I thought it was a little overpriced. However the room was very clean and the central location was great for exploring the town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

A cosy home away from home I'd like to call it thanks to the warm hospitality of Paul and Shaun. The Breakfast has got to be the best in Brighton freshly cooked to order and the location was perfect as we needed to be walking distance to the Dome and Brighton in general. We had a large clean, light, bright, neat and tidy room w/ attached power shower room. There are no shortage of restaurants and four supermarkets around the corner so whether you are staying for a weekend or a week The Kelvin is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Lovely clean, comfortable room. Super breakfast, welcoming & friendly hosts. A great location in Central Brighton. We had the best ever Indian meal at "The Bombay Mix" just up to the top of Street, first left...really cheap too !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kelvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kelvin

Address: 9 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kelvin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kelvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kelvin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.