We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for sushi lovers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushimania

Sushimania
15-17 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
3333320222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for sushi lovers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Been here twice recently and loved it both times - the selection of food (especially sushi) is great and the staff are very friendly! Very good value for money if you intend to fill yourself up on sushi - would definetely recommend it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    7
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food & good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was exceptional, and so much choice !! It was quite difficult to get served, but it was really busy and a Saturday night, so understandable. Would most definitely visit again !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sushi home delivery - late and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Over one hour late, no apology or explanation. Tempura was cold and soggy. Sushi selection was small for the price. £28 including delivery charge - see photo.

On a positive note, quality of fish was good, very fresh. Nice healthy take away alternative, but I'm still hungry!

Not sure I'd order this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh. Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Went for the first time for lunch ( half price deal ) plenty of variety and fresh. Drinks responsibility prices. Defiantly will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was good but service shocking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went with my parents on a Saturday lunchtime and it was relatively quiet with about 5 tables taken. Because we had a pram with us, we asked to push two tables together so we could get a little more space to have the baby in the pram next to us. The waitress said this was not possible and moved us to the back corner in the restaurant. The baby had to be taken out of the pram and our 2 yr old daughter had to sit on a normal chair as there were no high chairs available.

The system is a little confusing at first but we got the hang of it quickly and ordered a range of foods which were all very tasty. It did however take a long time to come and some dishes never materialised...All in all we ordered 3 rounds which took a staggering 3h!
A couple of other tables seemed to have the same issues and were complaining. The response from the waiting staff did not seem to bothered to be honest.

Personally, I will probably not going to come back as I am not prepared to spent hours waiting for food and being annoyed about the bad service. It is a shame as the concept is great and the food good. If they got their act together and sorted the service issues out, we may well reconsider.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushimania also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sushimania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushimania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.