We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added West Beach Hotel to your Saves list
West Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Nothing good to say about this hotel apart from its location. We were first shown a room where the window was cracked. It was noisy and was more like a prison cell. I asked to be moved. Second room wasn't much better. Stark and characterless and I couldn't wait to leave it......

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    32
    26
    53
See reviews for
18
35
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

absolute excellent stay even though they was renovating the bar and restuarant downstairs was great the staff was fab and will definatly go again....it is right on sea front great views....clean rooms cant wait until it is completley refurbed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great location, adequate amenities for price. Would recommend as a basic place to sleep and get around Brighton with ease. Nearby eateries and takeaways such as Indian and Chinese on the doorstep. Def be going back for SEO Brighton 2014!

Room Tip: a 3 bedroom compared to 2 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Going by some poor reviews on here, this hotel is either newly refurbished OR rooms vary a lot. Our room (number 001) on the ground floor was a quad room. It was huge, two beds in one section and two in another. Massive storage area and the bathroom was immaculate. Shower was hot & powerful! The room was very quiet even though there was a club next to the hotel playing pounding techno (that should give you an idea of what kind of club it is, just as a heads-up). The only problem I had the whole time was the communication of the staff. English not great and we were trying to get help with parking but there was a lot of shoulder shrugging which was a bit annoying as the car park said we could get a hotel discount but they had no idea how to help which ended up costing us £22 instead of £10. Bit annoyed about that as some friends stayed somewhere else and had no problem getting the discount so be careful using Regents Square Car Park. Wi Fi was good along with TV and clean, comfortable beds. I thought it was a real find to be honest and right by all of the bars and clubs. Idea for stag or hen do's.

Room Tip: Quad room 001 is like a 2 bed apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was in a group of 16 blokes doing the off-road London to Brighton bike ride in September.

We'd read the bad reviews but thought how bad can it be really and will we care?

The reality is so much better!

It's easy to find, near the front and lots of places to eat & drink.

Our rooms were clean and staff were very helpful.

For the price, it's fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

You get what you pay for in terms of room, but - as a really cheap room in Brighton, this is the place. The staff are fantastic and will go out of their way to help you, make your trip easier and will even send on small items that you left behind for no charge. If you want the Ritz, get your money out. If you want minimum fuss and a quick spot to crash for less with clean sheets then this is it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Firstly, I would like to mention that the staff were very friendly.
This does not make up for the atrocious accommodation we had to stay in, as we didn't have enough money to change hotels.
Cleanliness: filthy bathroom, stained toilet, warped floors, dirty lino, cracked tiles and sink, and a stained and dirty shower curtain. The windows were smeared, the curtains were stained and haven't been washed in a very long time. The bed only had 2, flat pillows and springs were sticking up everywhere.
The furniture was scratched and scuffed everywhere, and not one piece didn't wobble in some way or another.
The windows were only partially double-glazed allowing so much noise to travel up from the clubs below.
It was truly a terrible experience and I believe our car had a nicer place to stay overnight than we did.

Room Tip: Don't go there. Ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Hotel

Address: 135 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your West Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Brighton
Hotel West Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.