We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brighton House to your Saves list
Brighton House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We've just returned from a fantastic weekend at Brighton House. We felt extremely welcome and loved everything about the hotel from the breakfasts to the comfy bed to the lovely Mr Watts! Thanks for your hospitality and see you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at Brighton House. Thank you for your positive review, and should you ever return to Brighton we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    118
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
38
194
67
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in June 2013 with my family of 6, when we went for a weekend away. The reception staff were very welcoming, despite arriving fairly late, and we absolutely loved the homely treat of freshly baked cake in the entrance hallway for the guests! What a nice touch after a long journey.

The only slight downside is that we were on the top floor, which was fine for us (27, 28 & 30), but my parents (56 and 64) could've done with the offer of help, perhaps, to carry their cases to the room, as there were no lift facilities. But this was the only downside to the whole visit.

But, all was fine when we got to the rooms; super cosy and had everything we needed.

The breakfast was great, they catered for 2 of our wheat-intolerant and dairy-intolerant guests, and everything seemed fresh, with a great selection to please all.

We'll be staying there again this June, and I'm glad we found somewhere so lovely that's a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Brighton House last year. We are sorry that no one offered to help with your luggage. During our check in times we are always happy to help with any bags, large or small, which ever floor guests may be staying. We are very sorry this got over looked during your arrival. Please do just ask and we would be more than happy to help. We look forward to welcoming you back this June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at Brighton House on a mother & daughter weekend arrived to a very warm welcome.
the room was on the top floor, the stairs were a challenge but the room was clean and the view over the square was lovely.
Would recommend a stay as it was close to all the shops and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Please do book direct with us so you can use your returning guest discount and we can help to get you on a lower floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great position, friendly staff, great mattress and room, lovely breakfast.
Perfect place to stay as it's close the seafront and shops but not too noisy. Even the cat Mr watts is friendly. Our room had a nice view over the square.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Brighton House, and thank you for your kind words. Should you ever decide to return to Brighton we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I have just spent two nights in this fantastic hotel. Room 36 was just the best with beautiful views of regency square, the old pier and of course the sea. The staff throughout the day and night were very friendly and helpful and made it a joy to stay here. The continental breakfast was superb (the boiled eggs amazing) and so relaxing. Hand on heart I cannot wait to find the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We are really glad you found your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to you returning to Brighton and remind you to use your returning guest discount should you chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lots to recommend about this little hotel. A warm welcome from the staff and the hotel cat! Some really nice touches, from the delicious complimentary cake in the lobby, to the fruit and excellent range of teas in the room. My single room was small but comfortable, with a balcony and view of the square. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide range of organic foods to choose from.
The hotel is well situated with the seafront only yards away and the town centre a few minutes walk. I took the advice of the owners and booked my car into secure parking in the next street. You really don't need a car once you're there so it seemed a sensible option. There are restaurants and pubs in nearby streets if you don't want to walk into town.

Thank you Brighton House staff and Mr Watts (the cat) for your warm welcome and efficient service.

Room Tip: The single room with balcony is small but comfortable, with a larger than average bed. It has an en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and of course, Mr Watts! We look forward to seeing you again should you ever be back in Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at a similar establishment nearby several years ago and felt let down (long story). My stay at Brighton House, on the other hand, was exceptional. Very friendly, very well organised hotel. The room was maybe a little small - it was a single room without a bath (I actually would have liked a desk) - but the location is good and quiet. Wi-fi signal is strong and is free. Best things; the service and definitely the breakfast. Quality and quantity of foods was outstanding and a very relaxed atmosphere at breakfast, with the daily newspapers available to read too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We're very happy that you found your stay with us exceptional, and that you would recommend us. Should you return to Brighton we hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.