We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an amazing time in Brighton,UK @ the Brighton House !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brighton House to your Saves list
Brighton House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 96 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sudbury, ON CANADA
1 review
“Just an amazing time in Brighton,UK @ the Brighton House !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Brighton House B&B exceeded all our expectations. We arrived Aug. 2 and stayed until Aug. 5. The place books up quickly so it is best to book on-line like we did. The location was excellent....a 2 min. walk to the Sea... a 20min. walk to the Pier... restaurants & shopping well within walking distance. It was clean, amenities great and owner/staff amazing. They were kind, pleasant, helpful, accomodating and alot of fun. The breakfasts were very good... cereal, yogart, fresh whole & cut up fruit, dried fruit/nuts, various juices/milk, jam, peanut butter (although we are from Canada and are hooked on our Kraft so we brought it with us); marmot, honey, their kind of "nutella"; fresh breads, croissants, danishes, fresh salmon, variety of cheeses, hard/soft-boiled eggs, coffee/tea, toast... who could ask for more! Great value for your money. The rooms are typical UK style... twin bed rooms are small and quaint; superior room larger but with no shower... just tub, but wasn't an issue for us. There is no air-conditioning ... so if your life depends on it, make sure you find out before you book. We didn't care and they gave us a fan which worked out just perfectly. The nights were cooler (16 degrees celcius) so all was good as windows in the bathroom and main room opened. Remember... in the UK, the 1st floor is one floor up. The main floor that you enter into from the street level is the "ground floor or main floor" NOT the 1st floor. There is no elevator in this B&B and there are approx. 15 stairs to each level. They assisted with out suitcases so that was not an issue at all. I would definitely recommend this B&B and plan to return as soon as I can. Thanks to the whole staff for everything. We are missing Brighton & the Brighton House already. Cheers from your friends from Canada !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
We are all so happy that you had such an amazing time while staying with us at Brighton House. We hope that you had a safe trip back home to Canada. Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review its great for other guests to read your information. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton House in the future. Please do remember to contact us direct to receive your 10% discount as a returning and valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    124
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
39
204
70
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

It was lovely coming back and we were made to feel very welcome.
Room was nice and spacious and all-in-all it felt like coming home.
There is homemade cake every day and this time it was the tastiest lemon drizzle cake I've ever had! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who were on hand to answer my questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thanks for your review and nice to see you back. Thea was very pleased with her lemon cake and rest assured, we will insist she makes it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

i was travelling alone and phoned to book, got choice of 2 singles and got the better one with larger bed, when i checked in I noticed there were no vacancies and i can understand why, real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Brighton |house and found it to be good value. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at the Brighton House in July for 3 nights. The welcome we received was lovely and Karl who checked us in couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The room was compact but it was exactly as we expected from reading the website before making the booking and deciding on which room. It was just what we wanted and we loved it with our view over the square and to the sea. All the small personal touches the guest house held made it a special place to stay. Lucio the manager was also very nice. We lost some tickets for an event and he kindly helped us sort it out. I could go on about what a great time we had but only need to say that we would definately stay here again.ps the breakfast is just as good as everyone say as well! Thanks Brighton House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
We're so happy to read that you had such a lovely stay. All your kind words don't go unnoticed. We love to hear that people enjoy their stays. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Don't take a room overlooking the square as there's no double glazing, it's noisy and drafty.
The walls were paper thin, listening to our neighbour using the toilet at 2am was a lowlight.
Forget english breakfasts - although there's enough organic honey to float a boat.
Staff were helpful, but that's about all from our visit.
There was free internet available - but not what I would call high speed just OK for emails and surfing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Owner at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
We are sad to hear your stay was not to your satisfaction and welcome your comments. In response we do wish to address a few of the points raised in your review.
As a Grade II listed historical building we are not permitted to replace our windows with double glazing. This permission has been sought in the past as we agree it would enhance not only the sound insulation but also the thermal insulation. Unfortunately, we were unable to receive such permission.
We go to great extents to make our potential guests aware of our offering, including our breakfast. We do accommodate for a broad clientèle with substantial choice (certainly more than just honey) but do not offer a cooked breakfast. We do recommend that travellers with specific requirements educate themselves to a particular establishments offering particularly when seeking out smaller individual guest-houses.
We are surprised by your comments regarding the Wi-Fi. We have a dedicated 20M line from a business supplier with bandwidth to cater for over 60 simultaneous connections. We have not previously received adverse comments with this free supply. Had you made your issues aware to us at the time we might have been in a position to assist you in addressing a solution.
In parting, we sincerely hope these inconveniences did not mar your further enjoyment of Brighton and that you were able to make the most of your break.
Yours sincerely, the Brighton House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Great guesthouse! What I did appreciate most was the service received! Very customer service oriented. The breakfast was delicious with a lot to offer; it was not an usual British breakfast, but very organic like.
The guesthouse is located quite central, in Regency Square - near the West (burnt) Pier. It`s about 10 -15 minutes walk from The Lanes, Royal Pavilion or station.
Mr. Watts - the cat is the star of the house. It`s such a cute cat.
My first trip to Brighton was for pleasure. Then I occupied a single room which was very clean and cosy. Due to the fact that I enjoyed so much staying there, I chose to stay here again on my second trip to Brighton which was in May this year for business. Then I occupied a double room with a king sized four - poster bed. Wow, I felt like a princess!
I truly recommend this guesthouse. Very nice and kind people ready to help whenever you need it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Sounds like you had a lovely weekend and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay. Please remember that on your return to claim your 10% discount as a returning guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This B&B is marvelous. Lovely rooms and atmosphere, everything is arranged very traditional.
We also loved the organic breakfast, the sea view and the central location (just 5min to the city centre, 2min to the beach, 10min to The Lanes...)

We definitely will come back next year..

Room Tip: No 39: Kingsize bed and a wonderful view, No: 36 also a Kingsize bed and a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Brighton House and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.