We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little gem of a guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amherst Brighton to your Saves list
Amherst Brighton
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem of a guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed in the junior suite (room 3) and had a great stay. Great room, comfy bed, powerful shower, great breakfast (upgraded to full English for £6), warm welcome. I will definitely be back, what a great little guesthouse at the top of kemp town, only 10 minute walk to Central Brighton. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Room 3 - junior suite! Lovely cosy room. I booked directly on hotel website for cheapest deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    44
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
189
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This B&B/hotel is ideally located being close to the front, the pier and the centre of town. It is far enough away that it has its own local life of bars, pubs and restaurants. Marco who runs the the B&B is genuinely funny and can not do enough for you. He is extremely helpful and not looking to rip you off. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and is provided with a few treats some of which are chargeable (bottle of wine £10 which i thought very reasonable) and some of which are gratis - tea, biscuits, crisps etc.
Great value for money and when i next visit my daughter i will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Marcus was a very welcoming host, the junior suite was smaller than we expected but very cosy and bed was very comfortable. They have some lovely little touches, like breakfast in your room (for a small charge), the complimentary option was very filling and nicely presented and delivered by a very charming gentleman, the little items in the bathroom cabinet and the earplugs. The only 'problem' was the tv picture kept disappearing. Also it would have been helpful to know there was a mini fridge in the room (it contains a mini bar) so I could've bought my Cava with me!! The Amherst was lovely for a couple of windy days relaxing by the sea, without children.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from 1 night away in this jewel of a place in Brighton.fabulous service so friendly and really lovely room . Really can't say enough good things about this place ,ideal location but very quiet.within walking distance to everything.stop reading and book !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were booked for the valentine weekend and arrived on Thursday 13th of February and stayed for 3 nights.
When we arrived we were welcomed by one of the owners. He helped carry our rather larger over sized heavy suitcase which I was so relieved at. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable with a view of the sea. Breakfast was great, the service was excellent and all staff cheerful and helpful. We slept really well in a comfortable bed, the shower was brilliant and it was great to have a bathroom with a bath in it. We stayed in a junior suite which we felt was real value and we will be returning.

Room Tip: if you can book a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We came here for Valentines weekend and these guys really do make the place special. From a warm welcoming to lovely breakfast nothing was too much trouble. Warm, cosy rooms and I had the best nights sleep ever. This is a great location to everything you need for a stay here in Brighton and at a reasonable price. As you put it, long let it be and I hope so. All the little details don't go unnoticed, keep it up. Thank you Lee and Marcus for a lovely weekend.

Chris and Jess

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Can't praise the Amherst and the lovely Marcus too highly. From our friendly welcome, helpful advice about where to eat, booking a restaurant (or trying to - book well ahead if you want to eat at the Coalshed!) he was a model of the perfect host. (We ate at the Townhouse instead - Marcus's recommendation - fabulous)
Our room was lovely - it's called a junior suite which meant we had a sofa and coffee table plus a table and chairs where we could have eaten if we'd wanted to. The room had lots of period features and a lovely Georgian fireplace. The bed was huge and wonderfully comfortable and passed the classic test of perfect pillows. The radiator was controlled in-room so we had a comfortably cool room instead of the classic bakingly hot and dry hotel rooms we hate. A good range of tea/coffee/biscuits, complimentary water in the fridge - blissful. And moderately priced drinks instead of the rip-off prices of so many mini-bars. A well equipped en-suite with thick fluffy towels and good toiletries, and the most important feature of all - a good power shower with endless hot water.
And then we come to the breakfast. It really is the perfect English breakfast. Ordered the evening before, you get exactly what you want on your plate at the precise time you want it. The bacon and sausages are from a local butcher and they were wonderful. Freshly cooked mushrooms, just right. The mark of perfect service - extras we asked for on the first morning were present on the table on the second morning. You can't ask for more than that.
Marcus and Lee do a great job. Thank you for a delightful weekend.

Room Tip: Our junior-suite was on the front of the building but the traffic noise was acceptable and it gave u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amherst Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.