We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, breakfast and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambassador B&B
Save
You added Ambassador B&B to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22-23 New Steine | Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PD, England (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, breakfast and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Got a great deal on a two night stay through a daily deal site and my expectations weren't high after reading some reviews on here but actually had a very pleasant stay. It's not the most up-to-date building in Brighton but our room was of decent size (only booked a double but got a family room) had modern decoration, was spotlessly clean, had a decent en suite, nice and warm, digital TV with USB port (very handy as weather was terrible so spent a lot of our stay in our room). The only negatives were a few too many stairs and our door being far from sound-proof.
Breakfast was great with a good range of locally sourced food cooked perfectly to order and on our first morning my partner couldn't make it down for breakfast so the staff gladly delivered a full breakfast to our room with no charge, so those that have moaned about staff not being too friendly, I thought this was great customer service.
I travel down to Brighton often, have stayed in a lot worse for a lot more but would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, request a room on the lower levels. Also, if you're an early or lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    26
    32
    41
See reviews for
27
69
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiria, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is near the seafront and close (walking distance) to all the main attractions and nice parts of the city. But the hotel itself is probably the worst I've ever been in! Very old building desperately needing maintenance (or demolition...), with a long walk (no lift) to the 3rd floor with the bags. The room was small (1 single bed and 1 couple, not very comfortable), the carpet was 500 years old, the toilet was smaller than some closets I've seen... Surely, not to repeat. Next time, I have to make sure I handle the booking!!! The only thing good was the breakfast, but the time was not suitable for early risers: 8-10 am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Ambassador is located in a nice part of town, and is very close to the seafront. Our room was a decent size and the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was cooked well and there was a good range of food on offer. However, a lot of the furniture in the hotel, really wasn't up to standard and the whole place could do with updating, or a downgrade in the star system as we didn't think it was four star. We had a less than friendly greeting upon arrival and the guy cooking breakfast didn't hide his displeasure when we came down for breakfast at 9 (bear in mind that breakfast was from 8-9.30). The B&B has a lot of potential but it needs an overhaul and the staff who, let's be frank are in the hospitality industry would do well to remember it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASINGSTOKE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To start with a 4 star where did they get that from ?? Maybe in the 1970 s but not today i'm afraid. On arrival we were greeted by a man who was not interested in our presence as he carried on chatting on his mobile phone pointing the direction of our room. Once we got to our room it was like a 1970 s throw back all out of date all seen better days furniture disgraceful carpets. Moving on to breakfast well some chap took the tea and toast orders he was far from Mr Happy and the rest of the staff well if you got a word of english out of them you had done well. The breakfast was ok once it arrived. Would not go back ever would rather stay on the beech !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Ambassador B&B in Brighton was a beautiful place to stay and our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer.
The staff were lovely and our rooms beautiful and well fitted.
Would most certainly go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having just returned from a weekend in Brighton having stayed at the Ambassador B&B. We had a great time hotel staff were very friendly,breakfasts great and would highly recommend it,we will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night for a hen weekend. It was really difficult finding a hotel that only let you stayed for one night, but we were grateful to find this hotel. the location is perfect with it not being too close to all the night-life but not being too far either and everything is within walking distance. we arrived early at the hotel and the staff were very friendly and let us store our bags while we went off to look about. When we came back to check-in the bags were already in our room which was a nice touch! We stayed in the family room on the ground floor and the room in general was clean and the sheets/bed linen was clean!! i do agree with some of the reviews and the carpet was very stained and could do with being replaced (keep your socks on!) and in some areas is looking a bit tired.- BUT if we wanted a nice plush 5 star hotel then we would of booked one! you get what you pay for and it suited us for what we wanted - just a place to sleep! Very friendly staff though!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador B&B

Address: 22-23 New Steine | Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PD, England (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house property with 24 ensuite rooms in garden square overlooking the sea. Few minutes walk from beach, city centre restaurants and attractions. 24 hour reception and check in. Small residents bar and lounge. Green Tourism business serving local farm produce breakfast, beers and wines. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.