We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay everytime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moreland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Moreland to your Saves list
The Moreland
33 Montpelier Road, Brighton BN1 2LQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UPTO 30% OFF
Ranked #5 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
1 review
“Fantastic stay everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great place to stay close to the centre of Brighton that is always welcoming and clean. Large TV's in the rooms and the complimentary snack bar is awesome. The rooms I have stayed in are a good size with en suites. Heaps to do close by with pubs and shopping on the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Julian I, thanks so much for the great review and I am really glad that you continue to enjoy your stay here at The Moreland, it is a pleasure to have you here.

Many Thanks, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
191
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely one night stay at The Moreland in Brighton. The owner, Darren, was very accommodating, friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is in a pleasant and convenient location for walking into the city centre, plus our room was clean, tidy and had everything we could have needed for our stay. Great breakfast choices with extremely friendly service. We would definitely return to stay here next time we come to Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Hilary B, really happy you enjoyed your night at The Moreland and found what we have to offer enough to want you to return - can't ask for more than that ;)

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Darren (owner) when we arrived, he even went to the car to help my husband with the luggage. He was so helpful and made us very welcome srtaight away. The room (at the top) was an excellant sized double, very clean, and comfortable.Tea and coffee in the room included a great range of biscuits. The continental breakfast was second to none. We found ourselves in the heart of the town with everything within easy walking distance. It was a busy bustling part of town, pubs restaurants and shops on the doorstep and with the sea just a few steps away our choice of hotel could not have been better.Parking the car was our only negative, but I imagine everywhere else would have this problem too. We will definately use the Moreland when we return to Brighton.

Room Tip: There isnt a lift, so on my next trip I would try for a room on a lower floor. However, if there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
HI carol t, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and everything that The Moreland has to offer, including the breakfast buffet. As you say we are right in the heart of everything that Brighton has to offer, which is why parking can be a little tricky. We only have one parking space on the forecourt, however, their is a reasonably priced NCP car park just around the corner, under Regency Square that I recommend (£12.50 per 24hrs).

Very much looking forward to a return visit.

Many Thanks, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I bookshop my room at the Moreland in one Friday late afternoon for the evening and I couldn't arrive there before midnight. Darren was very flexible and friendly and he made sure I could get access even if so late. The b&b is Cousy, clean and hospitable. I enjoyed my stay and most probably will go back in the next future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Alessandro B, on the rare occasions I cannot be here to greet a guest or it is going to very late, I offer the key safe option, so you can let yourselves in and get to your room nice and quickly and I will meet you at breakfast - all of which you mastered without a problem, so thank you.

Very much looking forward to seeing you again soon.

All The Best, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights at The Moreland, Darren the owner made us very welcome. Room was clean and had everything you need. Plenty of choice for the continental breakfast and even had room service. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi jj25405, Glad you were happy with your stay here and enjoyed The Moreland breakfast buffet.

Looking forward to seeing you again real soon.

Many Thanks, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay at The Moreland. The room was really clean and nicely decorated and well equiped with everthing anyone would need. The location was also great, the hotel is right next to the shops, but also really close to the seafront. We also enjoyed a nice breakfast with plenty of choice. We would without a doubt stay here again if we were to return to Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Aileen M, really glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Moreland and you found us to be in a good location, especially for the shops and seafront.

Look forward to seeing you again.

All The Best, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed for one night to go and watch Brighton play with my hubby. Darren the owner made us really welcome. Room was clean and tidy and quiet and we liked the goodies with our tea and coffee even the sweets at reception.Continental breakfast was superb and we had a lot of choice and cosy and nothing was too much trouble for Darren. Will certainly book again and tell our friends. The hotel was so central to Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themorelandbrighton, Owner at The Moreland, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi suzanne v, glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Moreland and liked what we have to offer - including the sweets and goodies :)

Would be great to see you guys again real soon.

Many Thanks, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moreland

Address: 33 Montpelier Road, Brighton BN1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Brighton B&B is located in a residential side street, just off the main High Street right at the heart of the lively and bustling centre of Brighton and we aim to offer you Brighton's best B&B accommodation. We are a few steps from the seafront and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions, such as The Royal Pavilion, The Lanes, North Laine, Brighton Pier, Brighton Marina, The Brighton Centre. You will find dozens of bars and restaurants just a short stroll from The Moreland along Western Road. Our Brighton B&B has 8 rooms consisting of 3 Standard Doubles, 1 Standard King, 2 Superior Kingsize and 2 Luxury Kingsize - all rooms include full ensuite shower facilities, led tv's with DVD and Freeview, USB charging station, DAB radio/alarm, hairdryer, complimentary REN toiletries, tea/coffee & hot chocolate making facilities and complimentary hospitality trays full of goodies ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Moreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mascara Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moreland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.