We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy fast food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Namul

Namul
49 Gardner Street, Brighton BN1 1UN, England
01273973878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Healthy fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great place in Brighton... not really a restaurant but food was very tasty... is more a fast food place but worth paying it a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible - worst "restaurant" as staff called it I've ever been to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My standards were high for Namul since there have been such great reviews on this "restaurant" but upon arrival I was quite surprised. I did not let the size bother me at first but it does. The "restaurant" is cramped, tiny and there are a limited number of seating.
The food wasn't the best quality, I've tasted food along the Filipino street vendors that were tastier and cheaper. And having been to other Korean restaurants before, the food served at Namul was not as great. There is a limited choice in food. But the rice was of good quality - not too sticky and not hard so you can tell it's fresh.
Another things that was severely off putting was the service. Having been a waitress before and knowing how staff should behave, I was not completely satisfied with the service. The staff were rude, condescending and it was just poor customer service.
I advice anyone not to go here. Visit Kokoro instead, they offer almost the same foods but actually keep the cold separate from the hot and the staff don't talk to you like you are any less.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice healthy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very small cute restaurant !
Food is very nice. ; healthy, fresh and cheap :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The soup is unbelievable, the bibibamp is very tasty and healthy and the sushi is quite good, otherwise is a little bit small so sometimes you have to wait

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Healthy Alternative to Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a great little cafe. We ate there at the end of the summer and the food was fresh and lovely. I cannot say I am an expect on Korean food as many of the things I tried for the first time but everything was tasty and served fresh (lovely sushi as well) and with a smile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namul also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Namul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.