We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and top food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison

La Maison
70 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HQ, England
+44 1273 726006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #720 of 872 Restaurants in Brighton
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and top food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Being a head chef at a hotel I realize how import reviews are and people rarely take time to post the positives but always the negatives! The starters (soup) lovely presentation, main was duck leg with vanilla mash beautifully cooked and perfect temperature (can't stand food that is to hot to eat!) Dessert was ok (hence 4/5) but I've had better chocolate fondant I have to say but if u had tried it before I would have been more than happy with it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    7
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton
1 review
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

myself and my husband came here tonight, knowing about the bad press and abosulutely enjoyed ourselfs. the food was fantastic could not fault it. don't be put of by what you read, the staff were also amazingly friendly and really new there stuff regarding all the red wines,
brilliant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent New Year here and had a great time! The food was excellent even though we had a set menu. The wrong meals were brought out twice but we're rectified immediately. Truly enjoyed the experience as there was a great atmosphere. Food was absolutely excellent, good size portions and really enjoyed the evening!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The cocktails are magnifique! If you ever go there I suggest you to try a cocktail from the barman Andrea wich is amazing and he will make everything you like.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had to change time of booking last minute from lunch to early dinner and was not a problem at all, though possibly as not a particularly busy time (pretheatre dinner). Decor and ambiance very good. Staff exceptional, very friendly, interested and attentive. Good knowledge of content of menu and wine list. Menu quite extensive and had good variety and pretty much all looked worth trying. Also very good value for money. We had the fish platter to share which was hot and very large (don't need any extra chips!) also came with glass of prosecco each. Would recommend you eat the lobster first though as we were saving it til last and by then it was cold and a bit dry. Fish fillets cooked perfectly and very tastey, calamari very tender, prawns a bit over dome but all tasted great. Couldn't fit in a pudding so can't comment on that. Would definitely recommend to friends and will certainly go back again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.