We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokeys

Smokeys
124 Kings Road, Brighton, England
+44 1273 323888
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smokeys is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $27 - $84
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Smokeys, a slice of American heaven by the British seaside.We've taken the best of classic roadside cuisine from the heart of the States, added a pinch of spice from South of the border, and brought it on home to Brighton. We proudly serve California Brunch and Texas BBQ, freshly prepared with love and care from the finest local ingredients for your dining delight, day and night.Smokeys offers Brighton something new and something special - a celebration of satisfying American cuisine, lovingly crafted from the very best local ingredients.Inspired by a trip to the California desert, where good food well-cooked is a part of everyday life, we wanted to bring that delicious home-cooked taste back to Brighton.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked this restaurant in April,for a hen do of 16 people.
Fantastic food and service,very large portions,excellent value for money

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    78
    24
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“brilliant food, quiet atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There is plenty of choice on the menu, you get a massive serving, probably too much! the staff are very friendly and attentive. The setting is lovely and intimate, not too over crowded with tables like some restaurants can be. I would visit again if I was in Brighton :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice, but not amazing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were in Brighton for the evening so we decided to do a quick search online and look for an American style restaurant, we fancied having meat/barbecue/chips etc.
Smokeys looked like the perfect place, good reviews and the menu had exactly what we wanted.
The service was quite poor, not awful but unfriendly and unwelcoming.
The food was OK, it wasn't bad, but after reading all the amazing reviews I was expecting something special, and it really wasn't.
I ordered beef briskets..It was dry. The last thing I would expect beef briskets to be is dry especially after the so many hours the meat is meant to be cooked for. I was expecting meat that falls apart, juicy and flavoursome. It was an average peace of meat.
It's a shame, I feel the potential is there but at the moment they can certainly do better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So good we went there every single day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A colleague found this place on the second day of our week long stay in Brighton and we all liked it so much we went back every single morning for breakfast!

Huge portions, great variety on the menu (albeit I had the Full English every day!) , bottomless filter coffee and 1st class friendly staff makes this a must-visit restaurant in Brighton only 5 minutes walk from The Grand Hotel and the Brighton conference centre.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

In Brighton for a conference and was in desperate need of food, I had an amazing avocado salad, and the kids had amazing milkshakes. We went again the following night and had burgers which were good, although the meat was a tad bland and could have done with more seasoning.
Having said that, I would go back, service was great, and prices were reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokeys also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Smokeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokeys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.