We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veggie pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince George

The Prince George
5 Trafalgar Street, Brighton BN1 4EQ, England
+44 (0)1273 681055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great veggie pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Really enjoyed our veggie meal here. As a meat eater I really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere is good. Will be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Used to love this pub - the food, choice of drinks, service & atmosphere..however...

Popped in a fortnight ago for a Sunday Roast, only to be told be the blonde woman behind the bar that they 'do seasonal food;not roasts'! Her attitude is beyond words, seems to think she is above all the minions in the pub. Anyway, the pub was empty (I wonder why, we drank our drinks quickly & I nipped to the loo before leaving - I wish I hadn't. Disgusting. I used to enjoy taking people to this pub. What a shame. When we left we went to the Basketmakers Arms & had an AMAZING veggie roast. The Basketmakers was really busy & bustling with gorgeous food & lovely staff (& a lovely clean toilet too!) - total contrast!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent food but cleanliness disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had eaten here on a visit a few years ago and were looking forward to eating there again on a return visit to Brighton. The food was decent enough but we were put off by the fact that the chef's clothing was filthy (and we ate about midday on a Monday so the kitchen wasn't exactly busy), by the hair stuck to the vinegar bottle and the dirt around the condiments. When we used the toilets, there was no cold water and a tiny dribble of hot water, so I hate to think what the hygiene in the kitchen was like. We won't be eating there on our next visit to the town. Luckily there are lots of other vegetarian restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect finger food in the sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We dropped into the George because it ticked all our boxes:
a) good food
b) good ales
c) veggie option
d) dog friendly

We had a delicious lunch: platters to share in their small sunny rear courtyard. So nice we took a photo. The food was just as good as our old favourite, the Hop Poles

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“brilliant Veggie/vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A pub serving vegan food.. doesnt get much better than this! One veggie, one vegan and one meat eater in our party and we all raved about the home cooked food. Just what we needed after an excess of partying all weekend. I had the falafel burger with the biggest chips ive ever seen.. it was yummy! Food was reasonably priced and home cooked.. my only disappointment was they had run out of vegan ice cream- I never get to eat puddings when we eat out!

The pub itself had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were really friendly.

When we next visit Brighton this will be on our list for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince George also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Prince George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.