We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar

GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar
The Grand, Brighton | 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England
+44 1273 224300
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $31 - $187
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One of Brighton's new and glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 is located within the iconic Grand Brighton. A conveniently short walk from Brighton Station and the city's famous shopping lanes and exceptionally located along Brighton's vibrant seafront. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. A fantastic a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set menus are available. Although fish and seafood dishes dominate the menu, seasonal meat and vegetarian dishes feature. The stunning central champagne and oyster bar seating 20, offers a more relaxed dining area in which to share a seafood platter and watch the expertly trained chefs prepare oysters and other fruit de mer. There are also private dining options within the sea facing terrace or GB2, ideal for canape receptions or private celebrations. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of quality champagne, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had sunday lunch with my two daughters which was very pleasant. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The food was very nice with a good selection and the presentation was very good. We had a table on the terrace which is enclosed but has a good view of the seafront.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    65
    13
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“WOW - Fab for a special occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What can I say other than exceptional. I took my wife to celebrate our 1st wedding annivesay and certainly wasn't dissapointed. The staff were very attentive, made some great wine recommendations and certainly knew their food.

The atmosphere was really nice, not too loud even though there were a couple of larger groups eating. Staff service cannot be faulted and I would certainly take friends to GB1 for a special occassion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

excellent food at a reasonable price. Service v good. Book a tabel in the conservatory at sunset for a beautiful ambience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in The Grand and decided to try the house restaurant. What an amazing evening- sat at the bar area and chatted with the head chef. Tried oysters and spoke about the menu- he and all the staff were so friendly and professional. I'm on a strict diet and they catered to my every need. I would recommend this to anyone- even though the restaurant was quiet ( it was a Monday night) the atmosphere was lovely and we left very full and happy! I can't wait to return- fabulous food for reasonable prices and great service. 10 out of 10!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I live in Brighton and sometimes struggle to find a decent restaurant to return to. The GB1 was a pleasant change. ~Although it is sea food primarily they also do meat dishes and veggie.

We went with friends recently and had the best meal , ambience and time than we have had for a long time. The new look has a lovely vibe.

We had cocktails in the lounge area, this part could be improved, not really that good but they tried. No pickies or nuts etc with them which was disappointing.

We almost the last people to leave and reluctantly dragged ourselves into the cold!

The meal was not overly priced, compared to other good places on our list of frequent dining out.

Would definitely go again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.