We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ann W” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Geese

The Geese
16 Southover Street, Brighton bn29ua, England
+44 1273 693491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 821 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ann W”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a most delicious meal prior to going to the theatre, I love sausages and this meal was the best sausage, mash potato together with the gravy I have ever had! The range of different sausages including vegetarian and many varieties of mashed potatoes and different gravies is very impressive all chalked up on the menu board. Very rustic. The staff were very welcoming service very good. All in all a perfect place. We cannot wait to go again and that will be very soon.
Well done to all the staff and Chef. There was nothing we didn't like.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    12
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice pub, the muzak was too loud and unnecessary as it was very busy. The food arrived in good time and the girl looking after us was great but the food was a let down the roast pots were chewy, the crackling served with the pork was scratchings out of a bag, the swede had far too much pepper in it, but it wasn't the worst sunday lunch I have had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby A, General Manager at The Geese, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello there, thank you for your review and I'm really sorry to here you didn't enjoy your visit to The Geese. I will certainly be looking to improve from your comments. The crackling is most definately not pork scratchings however it is made from fresh pork and I'm confused as to why you would think this. The music volume is purely a matter of personal taste, we will always turn the music down on reqest but the lively atmophere is one of the reasons why we are the busiest pub for roasts in Hanover and its a little unfair as everyone else enjoys it and keep coming back.
Thank You for your kind comments, as a young independent business we do value customer feedback so that we can improve, if you would like to come back please let me know so I can get you a drink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delectable Food, Warm Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to experience an excellent evening at The Geese on Southover Street just the other night. I was aware that bangers and mash was the theme at the pub, and although I'm not normally a fan of this cuisine, I went in with an open mind.
After settling in at our reserved table with a refreshing pint, I was immediately pleased with the friendly clientele around me and the happy, bustling atmosphere, which really epitomised the magical charm of British pub culture.
Gazing up at the menu/wall I was taken aback by the selection of sausages, mash and gravies on offer and couldn't wait to choose my killer combination. I could already tell this wasn't going to be your average bangers and mash pub grub as I deliberated over options of venison, chorizo, wild boar, garlic mash and red wine gravies.
The service was on the ball and immediately brought us over the best condiment and sauce tray I have ever seen at any restaurant- with jars full of everything from the standard ketchup and mayonnaise to mint and cranberry sauces and everything in between.
When the food arrived it was well presented and smothered with gravy. By the end of the meal, I had actually been converted to a bangers and mash fan, although I wouldn't go anywhere other than the Geese for it! The sausages oozed freshness and flavour and the portions are more than enough.
So get yourself down to the Geese ASAP! And make sure you book to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Roast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table of 4 for 12pm on Sunday via email and received confirmation same day; arrived at 12pm table reserved (as were just about all tables, so advisable to book in advance).

Its a small pub but setting and atmosphere were good though the barman came across as a tad surly.

Overall our roasts were were ok but nothing better than that; my veggie roast was dissapointing to be honest not very flavoursome and didn't seem to have much thought in making it stand out from the norm and the pork had very little crackling with it - the veggies were good but roast potatoes were only average at best.

Also, the side dishes are not available for Sunday roast (no mushy peas for me then) - perhaps the board should make this clear.

Sadly our expectations from the previous TA reviews were not met - perhaps we caught them on an off day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really good roast dinner and good value. The menu in the week looks interesting lots of different sausages and mash. Would like to visit again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Geese also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Geese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Geese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.