We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yogi bear” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stoneham Pub

The Stoneham Pub
Portland Road | Hove, Brighton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #549 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yogi bear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just read some ove the reviews , and felt the same great pub good staff (apart from the man who I can describe as yogi bear ) he was very rude and did not help what so ever , but apart from (yogi bear) nice pub and food was nice

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    20
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great family pub for kids really impressed with this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

How ever bar staff were great and friendly, with great service, there was one very rude big guy I think maybe manager? Didn't make me feel or my family comfortable unwellcome!!!
Also another family felt the same about this guy VERY RUDE MAN!
Otherwise great pub good atmosphere! With great people and staff!!! Apart from the big rude man!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice pub, too many kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

this is a lovely pub, nice modern fresh interior with a great garden. good choice of drinks and pizza menu, all reasonably priced.
unfortunately, (in my opinion) atmosphere completely spoilt with a ridiculous amount of children running around, screaming at the top of their voices. I would've said there were twice as many kids as adults during our last visit, and all completely left to their own devices!
unable to enjoy a peaceful conversation, we finished our drinks, and went somewhere with a more adult ambiance...
will not be rushing back which is a shame as it is literally on our doorstep. however if you have young children, then this may be the place for you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“So rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff were rude, surly, unfriendly and generally behaved as though having to serve any customers was a huge inconvenience. They forgot half the order and didnt apologise. I would NOT recommend this pub to eat or drink.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“miserable staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

sorry to say i was not impressed.We waited for ages to be served at the bar and when we were it was by someone who really looked like she didnt want to be there.In the end we didnt bother ordering food and just had a drink.We went to Dannys and that was great as always.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stoneham Pub also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Stoneham Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stoneham Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.