We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafétastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ground Coffee Houses

Ground Coffee Houses
36 St Georges Road, Brighton BN2 1ED, England
+44 1273 696441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Independently brewing exceptional coffees and loose leaf teas from the UK's finest suppliers. Breakfast croissants, granola pots, muesli and beautiful pastries from Julian Plumart for breakfast. Homemade soups and salads, and sandwiches prepared on stone ground organic bread from Flint Owl Bakery in Lewes. Fresh juices made to order. We're also friendly, musical and quite clean. This is the place!
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cafétastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My day only starts when I run down to Ground to be meet by smiling faces, fresh bread and pastries and of course thee best coffee! I am in two minds writing this review as I want Ground to best kept secret to locals but that will be huge injustice not tell all of you what an amazing coffee house it is. The employees genuinely care about their customers and like to get to know them and their coffee habits!

They are currently working on their lunch menu this is proving to be very popular you have to get in quick sells out by 2pm.

Come to Kemptown for amazing coffee and lots of happy people to serve you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I look forward to visiting Ground on the one day a week I can work near the hospital in Brighton (it is a 5 minute walk away). The staff are friendly and like everyone's quirky preferences - I like a latte with a spoonful of honey in it - and the coffee is the tastiest in Brighton. Enough said.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Faultless coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best coffee I've had in the UK - fact. Friendly, buzzing, unpretentious (save for the irritating and trying-hard-to-appear-cool "bring your macbook to lunch" crowd) and decent value. Food is great and not overly fussy - fresh sandwiches, cake and other tasty items on offer. Good music too. Still the best thing about Ground is the coffee. I've tried all the other high end coffee places in Brighton and none quite manage to achieve the same level of perfection as Ground.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Recently visited whilst on a trip in Brighton, wonderful little shop with an amazing variety of drinks and food. I was impressed by the fresh fruit breakfasts and the variety of cakes. My flat white was the best on our trip to Brighton despite having visited other established coffee bars. The staff were warm and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We walked past here on our way to the Seafront. We had Coffee and Cake and then took a take out . Simply - Great Coffee

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Coffee Houses also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Ground Coffee Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ground Coffee Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.