We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stay in Brighton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Room With A View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added A Room With A View to your Saves list
A Room With A View
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   41 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Private parking
Ranked #8 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal stay in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at A Room With A View for one night on Sunday 11th August.
Although the rooms are pricey they are worth every penny as you get a quality room, beautful views and excellent service.

Checked in to room 8, beautiful views across Brighton beach and to the pier ( only a short walk away) Good size room & double bed , room was decorated well throughout , light airy and fresh. Nespresso coffee machine, mini-bar, free wifi & large lcd tv. Bathroom had rain shower & lovely bath with toiletries & robes provided.

Parking was easy and available on site. Breakfast was again really nice and service was excellent, this B&B really has got it right! Would recommend a stay here and shall be booking again on my next visit to Brighton

Rich
Hertfordshire

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
218
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FISHGUARD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We travelled to Brighton for a 2 night stay and chose this guest house after reading the rave reviews about it .I have to say, we came away disappointed.We were booked in to Room 1 on the ground floor and whilst we were very happy regarding the cleanliness and little touches we found the room to be very small with hardly any room for 2 people to move around.This was even more apparent in the bathroom with only just enough room in the shower for 1 person to turn around.Also all the mentions of the wonderful breakfasts baffle me as whilst they were perfectly acceptable ,I have had better in much cheaper hotels I have stayed at.Regarding the hosts, we saw one on check in and then on check out after our 2 day stay only. My rating Average only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a twin room - Mum and Daughter getaway. Very nicely furnished with extremely comfortable beds. Our view was of the sea and the pier. Enjoyed breakfast and the way the TV connected to the internet.

Why not a 5? With windows closed, the noise from the road was greatly reduced, but it was a warm night and we'd rather have been able to leave the window open. The shower didn't have a curtain and the washbag we left on the shelf got soaked. Otherwise a really great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a two night stay at the hotel and it was excellent all round
room was great as it says in the name a great view of brighton
food was good nice touches with fridge and drinks
Also the hosts were more than helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been to Brighton many many times and have always hoped for a decent boutique hotel, so when we looked at the last minute to go down for Pride 2013 we expected again to find the usual array of half baked over priced room offers. This we did but then stumbled upon a room available here for two nights. We never stay at Guest Houses or B and B's as i hate the cosiness and lack of privacy but after reading the TA reviews we booked.
Some may say 150 pounds for a guest house is expensive but we have previously paid 90 pounds for a Travelodge in the city, then add 25 pounds a day parking and also breakfast then you realise that this was an excellent price. The free parking right outside the hotel is incredibly rare for Brighton. We emailed the hotel immediately upon booking to confirm how we would like the beds (twin or king-size) and immediately received a reply from Stephen.
We had a very warm welcome, offer to carry our bags and were shown to our room. Well i can only say it was better than most 4 star hotels, enormous bed, beautiful bed linen, ironing board and iron, robes and slippers. Of most note was our own Nespresso machine and pods, welcoming bar of chocolate, fridge and an offer to have a couple of free drinks from the fridge with a request that you paid one pound for any additional ones drunk.
The bathroom was small but excellent. Beautifully large shower and lovely toiletries, fluffy white towels and spotlessly clean.
The view was wonderful, you could sit for hours and look at the sea and the pier.
It was probably one of the noisiest and warm weekends (Pride 2103)but with the windows shut and the provided fan we did not hear a thing. In case that is not enough they also provide a couple of pairs of earplugs. But remember you are in a city on a main road overlooking the sea, it is never going to be as quiet as the countryside.
The breakfast was fresh, lots of choice, lots of fresh fruit salad, greek yoghurt, granola, cereals, pastries, coffee machine to make whatever you choose, then a choice of hot breakfasts which were cooked as requested.
Wifi can be a bit intermittent but they did say to let them know and they would reboot it, we just used the BT open zone instead.
i cannot recommend it highly enough although by doing this i feel i will be doing myself out of a room. Just looking at the availability on their website you need to book a long long way in advance.
Brighton Hotels you should hang your head in shame at the price you charge compared to this little haven.

Room Tip: we had a first floor king (only room available) but it was great, i suspect that they are all as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely B&B. Our room was spotless and more like a boutique hotel than a B&B and, of course, we had an incredible view!

Breakfast was lovely, as were the staff. We had stayed at The Grand the night before and thought that this B&B was MUCH better!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place was well done. It is newly renovated so everything is clean & fresh. Great breakfasts, great hosts, great views. Our double room was large, but note that the single room is very small.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Room With A View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room With A View

Address: 41 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Room With A View 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Room With A View offers boutique accommodation on Brighton sea front featuring individually styled sea view rooms with a luxury hotel feel. Close to town and all of Brighton's top attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your A Room With A View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Room With A View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.