We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome... a wee gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Siam Thai Restaurant

Siam Siam Thai Restaurant
Preston Street, Brighton BN1 2HG, England
01273757424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome... a wee gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The food was delicious, great banter with I think it was the manager. The atmosphere in the restaurant was really nice, no loud or strange music. Not expensive, food all made from scratch - Highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    31
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good service, average food, but some dishes need improving.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We tried this restaurant while visiting Brighton, as our hotel was just around the corner. The chargrilled beef on a sizzling platter was excellent, but sadly some of their other dishes were lacking. The veg spring rolls were average, and the egg fried rice was extremely dry. It looked as though it had been cooked hours earlier and just heated up before serving. The grains of rice on top were so dry they were starting to harden. Normally we would have sent it back but we were in a hurry as we had to meet friends, and the rest of our food was ready, so we didn't have time to wait for another one to be cooked. I also ordered dessert, which had frozen fruit in it! The waitress advised this is normally how they serve it (very strange). Obviously the fruit wasn't edible as it was frozen, so god knows how they expect their customers to eat it! They need to rethink that particular dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very good find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Quirky little restaurant with friendly staff, nice decor and good menu. All our food choices were great, very fresh and good quality produce used. All in all I'd recommend a visit there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Sussex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We pottered in here one Friday night without having booked ready to be turned away and we were seated right away. I'm super fussy when it comes to Thai food having been to Thailand many times and I've been super frustrated with the lack of decent Thai in Brighton in the past. Not anymore!

We wanted to try lots of dishes and on the recommendation of the lovely waitress Oni who served us we went with a Papaya salad, Whole crab in yellow curry powder, a pork salad with a tom yum soup and rice and wow it all blew my mind, we wanted it all at once to eat at our leisure. The papaya salad (one of best I've had) was so fresh and spicy washed down with a cold beer, followed by the sublime crab which was served in the crab shell and minced with herbs and fresh spices, it was stunning with rice and looked amazing when it was brought over to the table. I've heard since that the beef curry is supposed to be incredible and that is next one my list next time I visit.

Everything was so wonderful and Oni and her dad went out of their to make us feel like stars, it's a family affair with Oni's mum cooking in the kitchen which makes it even more special in my book. It made our weekend, we haven't stopped recommending it to all our friends. If you are looking for something special, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the nicest examples of a small restaurant I have been to :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Strolled upon this restaurant one eve whilst in Brighton for the weekend. Once you enter this small yet hip restaurant you are hit by a fun and quirky surrounding. It was busy during the eve me and my friend arrived, however the service was still very good. The waitress was very polite and attentive and when the food followed I was delighted to find it tasted very good. The food was simple yet delicious and the right portion size. Frequently you will leave a restaurant feeling like you have eaten far too much but here you was left feeling satisfied and happy with a cheap bill.
We had the chance to briefly meet the owner too, who seemed very jolly - here is a business that has got it right - well done with this little joint. I will definitely return and will promote this little gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Siam Thai Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Siam Siam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Siam Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.