We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee I've had in Brighton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria De Luca

Gelateria De Luca
107 St James's Street | BN2 1TH, Brighton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best coffee I've had in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm not surprised this has got all 4 or 5 stars so far. The coffee is incredible, and stands out way above any I've had in town. The guys who run this place really know what they're doing. The gelato and other desserts are pretty perfect too. They have a massive range of flavours, and they're even licensed, so there's a little bar there too.
The only thing that is sometimes a bit of a pity is that the music can be a bit loud, but only very rarely, and anyway the coffee and gelato makes it worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a treat, this little gem (Little Italy) in Brighton produces the best gelato I have tasted, it is all made fresh daily on the premises. Most of the fruit flavours are made from fruits of the season and is made by 2 young Italian lads. (The girls sure like them). There is a large flat screen TV, Italian music is played all day and night. If you like football then it is the place to be on those nights when you fancy a Gelato, beer, spirt or just a coffee and cake. In the winter there is a small heated terrace area outside with seats. Go give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Reminds me of my first wonderful Italian gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The flavours presented here make for a very difficult decision! Which to choose???? The solution is to return regularly and try the all different delicious flavours over time. However, with insufficient days to do so, I found the chocolate, coffee, raspberry and woodland fruits all wonderful. I look forward to my next visit to Brighton and another opportunity to indulge my taste-buds!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easily the best ice cream in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Real Italian ice cream, mouth watering. chocolate hazelnut is awesome but the pistachio is like no other I've tasted, amazing! And the coffee is delicious, real quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Ice Cream - Italian Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After lunch it was ice cream time... excellent ice cream, a bit expensive but very good, they also sell coffee, ice cream cakes, Italian beers and stuff...

Seating is available inside with additional seating outside on the pavement which is nice when it is warm and sunny like it is today.

Staff speak English and Italian.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria De Luca also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Gelateria De Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria De Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.