We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yum Yum Ninja

Yum Yum Ninja
15-18 Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
01273 326 300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $8 - $63
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently dined at the Yum Yum Ninja and had a great meal. The quality was excellent and very tasty to say the least, the only thing that let it down for me was the portion size especially of the noodles. The other dishes could be past as dim sum and therefore you aren't expecting a great deal, but if you're looking to bulk out on noodles, bit disappointing and for that reason is why it kept it off the top spot for me.

The service was fantastic, very quick and the young Portuguese waitress that served up had the patience of a saint! Thank You.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    49
    21
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in the Lanes, the temptation is to walk past. Don't. This is a truly hidden gem. A lot of people might be tempted to shy away from a predominately Japanese restaurant but don't miss this one. The food is superb and the attention to detail in the presentation is something we've not seen since Japan.

Most people will grab a table in a quiet corner. Don't. Go and sit at the bar where you will not only be able to see your food being prepared, but also be able to talk to the chef, which permits full explanation as to what is in each dish, how it's prepared plus the occasional bonus nibble!

The Sake is a little expensive but then again it is shipped quite a distance. The food is reasonably priced but exceptionally well prepared/presented. We opted for an entire meal of dim-sum and starters. This exposed us to a wonderful selection of food for only £45 including a small bottle of Sake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Soulless cooking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Without doubt the worst food I have had in a long time. Under seasoned, unskilled in the preparation of any Asian cuisine. Friendly enough, potentially great concept, very badly executed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose to eat at yum yum ninja because we wanted to try their dim sum. I grew up in Hong Kong so have eaten lots of dim sum before. We regularly visit another brighton restaurant which serves fantastic dim sum. We arrived at Yum Yum ninjas and were greeted very well and shown to our table promptly. The restaurant was almost empty with only one other table of customers. We looked over the menu and were quite excited by the look of it. We ordered mainly from the dim sum section of the menu but did try a few dishes from the rest of the menu. What we received was not Dim Sum. In fact it didnt even taste like any form of asian cuisine i've had before. Every dish was bland and poorly prepared. All the dumplings both steamed and fried were encased in a very thick stodgy wrapper, there was almost no filling inside and what was there was flavourless and overcooked. Each one of the har gau had stuck to the plate they were served on meaning you had to pick the prawn off the plate separate from the dumpling.
I tried the "Legendary Ninja Pork Bun", i was amazed at how appalling this was, It was by far the worst thing i ate that night. I think restaurants need to be very careful using words like legendary on a menu. It was flavourless and with burnt pork belly on top. I can only think that the chef had never tried eating one of these himself.
The only thing my fiance and i enjoyed eating was the free appetisers of tapioca and squid ink.
Had it only been a couple of dishes we had trouble with we would probably have put it down to a bad night but since every thing we paid for was so poor we will not be returning or recommending Yum Yum Ninjas.
We often eat dim sum and spend on average around £30 for lunch for two leaving stuffed and with a goodybag. We spent just short of £50 at yum yum ninjas and left still feeling very hungry and very dissapointed. I would recommend that the chefs take some time to visit the other restaurants in brighton renowned for dim sum and do some research into the cuisine they are offering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Those Ninjas are a bit cheeky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ok, so the decor is nice, the service is efficient enough and the staff are friendly but is this the reason why you go to a restaurant? There are some good points and bad points. The good points are that some of the food is tasty such as the dumplings and the monkfish cheeks. However, I would say there is more I have ordered on the menu that I have been left disappointed with.

For the most part some of the food veers off from the traditional Japanese flavours into a more european flavour but just some of the aspects of the dishes I have been served the last three visits isn't acceptable. I feel the menu is over priced for what you get. In particular the "Yum Yum Native blue lobster salad" for £16. This is presented well but wow, is the portion small and measly. So not worth £16. Secondly, the "Whole Wok fried crab" is a joke, it came looking as a whole crab and i was ready to plough into the body meat first, i turned the body upside down to spoon out the meet and like a magic show the meat had disappeared. The only meat worth extracting were in the legs and claws, is this worth £17.95?

The legendary ninja buns that advertises "double cooked pork belly" may as well be cooked once and only for 30 minutes because the texture is not soft and tender enough for that of pork cooked slowly for a long time.

The salt and pepper squid is not bad but the batter isn't as crispy as I have had in other restaurants and the portion is surprisingly small for the advertised price of a large portion at £12.

As a whole, this restaurant is somehow falling into the typical Brighton pretentiousness because of the pretty lanterns outside, a funky set up inside making this a somewhat anglo atmosphere of an Izakaya. It boasts cocktails on the menu which are ok but nothing special but this only drifts away from what a Japanese eating house is all about.

My only suggestions is visiting this place on a Sunday when all food is half price. Then you will you see for yourself what is being offered for an affordable price for the standard of food, only then you can decide if you would return again and pay full price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum Yum Ninja also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Yum Yum Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yum Yum Ninja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.