We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes cheap as chips” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saltdean Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saltdean Tavern
Saltdean Park Road | Saltdean, Brighton, England
1273304614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #570 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Yes cheap as chips”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say cold food unfriendly staff and lost it community based pub. A carvery at it worst sorry to say. Place looks dirty seats and walls with gravy. Never again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    6
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Choice for vegetarians extremely poor.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I'm fine with purchasing a cheap meal, but no matter how cheap, no point going if as a veggie there's nothing available to eat! Last time I went I had to ask for an omelette to be cooked especially, which they were fine with, but this took me back. I thought most restaurant's had SOMEthing suitable for veggies. This place is outdated and frankly doesn't cater for everybody.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“CHEAP AS CHIPS AND IT SHOWS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you go down the saltdean tavern expecting posh nosh think again,This is aimed for oaps and familes on a budget the food is bland mircowave fare but at less than a fiver you only have yourself to blame,Its quite fun watching how much food people can get on there plate

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

always been impressed with this carvery for the money it is. service is always great in here, food is always top notch and they are never funny about asking for that extra yorkshire or slice of meat! easily accessable location wise, and parking is perfect too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“the manager needs some lessons in customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

when i visit my friend in saltdean we always go to the carvery with the kids and have always enjoyed it. on this occasion my friend payed first for herself and two others and then i paid after for myself and my two children. i paid by credit card and he gave me my receipt but NOT the carvery tickets that are needed. i asked for them and he told me he had already given them to me which he clearly had not, maybe he was getting confused with the credit card receipt. he then started to argue with me at which point i raised my voice and then he printed them off. when he handed them over he once again said i did give them to you and walked off. when i came to meet my friend in the Que i was so upset and humiliated i felt like he was accusing me of lying! the chef was very nice and apologized on his behalf. some serious customer service skills are required in this place and i shall never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltdean Tavern also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Peacehaven, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Saltdean Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltdean Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.