We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Brasserie - Brighton

Cote Brasserie - Brighton
115-116 Church Street, Brighton, England
01273687541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kent England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Would go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having tried their London branch we gave this one a whirl.Although the restaurant was packed the speed of delivery was amazing.The two and three course deals between 1200 hours and 1700 hours are indeed excellent value.Despite the pressure we found the staff cheerful and attentive at all times.The wine prices are reasonable and the house wine good quality.There is a 12.5% service charge to be added to the menu prices but given the quality of both food and service we were quite happy to pay this.It may be necessary to book a table on some accasions as we were probably rather lucky.Yes indeed the steak frites are delicious.Table for three covering two courses each with a few side extra's and a bottle of red wine worked out at £70 inclusive of service charge prior to 1700 hours.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    214
    56
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked a table on a Wednesday evening and it was absolutely packed. We had a lovely meal there. The building itself is beautiful and had a great atmosphere. Good choice on the menu and the food was delicious. The staff at the restaurant were very helpful and our waitress was delightful. Would definitely go back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a great evening - relaxed and very comfortable. No sign of frenzied rushing around from the staff who were charming, welcoming and very efficient. Food was great - generous portions, well cooked, plenty of choice. The calamari starter was fantastic. Comfortable, spacious table, good wine, and somehow quiet enough to be able to chat away all evening, even though the restaurant was busy. A real pleasure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My boyfriend took me here on Valentine's evening for dinner. We were each given a complimentary glass of sparkling wine which was a nice touch. I ordered the calamari (as recommended by the waitress) - it was delicious and definitely the best calamari I've ever had. I then had the minute steak with garlic butter and fries. Cooked to perfection it was delicious.

Great service too. Relaxed atmosphere. Fairly quiet, so probably not somewhere to go if you prefer a more raucous affair, but if you're looking for somewhere a bit up market and on the 'posh' side a little quieter, then this is great. Highly recommend and will certainly be returning soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr. York, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A lovely old-fashioned and very elegant setting with gorgeous food too. Perfect for a light lunch but I would also recommend the breakfast when the restaurant was much less busy and you could really take in the beautiful surroundings.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Brasserie - Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.