We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an older style hotel on the sea-front of Brighton, close to the town centre. This was booked at a low price for a short overnight stay in January. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Steve, who quickly explained breakfast arrangements, advised local eating places (late evening), car parking arrangements and showed us to our room. The double bedroom was very clean and spacious enough although located in the lower ground floor, with a window below ground level, looking up to a side street. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom was tiny, with a shower, small hand basin, soap dispensers and WC. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the bedroom. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent. I would use this hotel again but would want to be in an upper-floor bedroom, with a more spacious bathroom.

Room Tip: Request an upper-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel. The staff are an asset to the hotel and aways make guests welsome. The next time you are looking for accommodation in Brighton please call the hotel on 01273 820555 to make your reservation and request a room on an upper floor. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    240
    187
    100
    75
See reviews for
85
307
66
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked on late rooms for £30 per night, parking is £15 extra per night though! And carpark only holds about 8 cars, rooms are very pleasant and spotlessly clean. It's right on the seafront so not far to walk for the usual attractions of Brighton, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. A ****

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you managed to take the benefit on one of our special winter offers. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a decent sized seaview room on the 4th floor with a comfortable bed but which was rather spoiled by badly fitting windows which rattled all night in the strong wind, and a bathroom door which wouldn't shut properly. Property is old and in need of quality refurbishment rather than just painting over the bathroom tiles! Well located opposite the old West Pier about 15 minutes walk into town. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed yuour stay. Unfortunately the car park only has 11 spaces and we cannot exoand due to our location. The hotel has capital investment each year and currently we are refurbishing bathrroms. The bed would have been a King Size if in a sea view room.
I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future,.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Stayed in room 211 which is supposed to be kingsize bed but I'm sure it was only a double. Rooms are good size with bed, sofa, tv, coffee table, wardrobe and dressing table. Sofa starting to show its age. Ceiling must have been thin or room above was noisy. Lovely view of the sea and bandstand in the morning. Hotel parking a bit tight. Not bad but room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great location on the sea front, superb staff - friendly and helpful - topped off by a lovely breakfast (freshly cooked full English). Highly recommended as a great package including excellent prices compared to other Brighton sea front hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
It was great to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and at a good price for Brighton. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed over the summer and this hotel we perfect.

It is located right opposite the pier.

We stayed on the top floor.

The room had a big double bed and a single in the corner. A massive dressing table 2 wardrobes and a sofa and a couple of chairs.

In the bathroom there was a large Jacuzzi bath plenty of room for 2!!

The room was brilliant and massive. We never did make breakfast so cannot judge on that.

Parking is a nightmare in Brighton in general, the hotel gave us a pass to park in an NCP for £5.00 off making it around £18.00 overnight. DO NOT PARK THERE. It is the most expensive car park in Brighton by a long way you can find cheaper just do a little digging.

Room Tip: Top floor there are lifts so no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your comments on the hotel and it was great that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately parking is an issue in Brighton and we recommend the closes parking to the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've booked a room in this hotel for one night looking to escape and to relax for one day. Since I like more space I've booked a double room for myself and this came for a very good value considering short notice ( less than 24 hours). I was checked in by a friendly receptionist Steve who handed in my keys. Once I got to my room I immediately checked the bathroom as I was DREAMING about taking a hot bath. The bath tube was not there - only a shower cabin. I rushed back to the reception and asked if I could possibly have a room with a bath and Steve checked all other rooms and I was upgraded not only to a room with a bath but also with the see view! This really made all the difference on my stay and I ended up having a relaxing time exactly how I wanted it for no extra cost!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
It was great to read that your last minute getaway was succesful. We will always try and find a suitable room for guests request when possible. On your stay you obviously got an uograde and a bath which was what you initially wanted. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade II listed BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel is one of the best hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a welcome and is located directly on the seafront, opposite the famous West Pier and band stand. Just a short walk to the main shopping areas, the Lanes, conference centre and just a stones throw from the beach the BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel the perfect hotel in which to stay while in Brighton. Brighton railway station, with direct connections to London, is only 20 minute walk or short taxi ride away. The elegant lounge and bar have perhaps the most enviable sea views of any hotels in Brighton. The hotel boasts 55 well appointed rooms, many of which command direct sea views and are equipped with all the facilities expected of a quality hotel. Directly opposite the BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel on the beach is a wonderful children's play area complete with paddling pool, swings and sand pits. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As an AA Metro hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available Wednesday to Sunday 6.30Pm till 9.30Pm and our Lite Bite Menu which is available 7 days a week from 12pm till 5pm. Breakfast We're extremely proud of the breakfasts we provide. Along with the traditional full English platter, we also do a mean pancake stack, layered with yogurt and fresh berries! If you prefer, try our homemade granola, whole kippers from the Rye or poached Haddock from Newhaven. Whatever you fancy, well set you up for the day. Monday - Friday 7.00Am-10.00Am Saturday and Sunday (and bank holidays) 8.00Am - 11.00Am Lite Bite Menu Available 7 days a week from 12pm to 5pm. All dishes are homemade by our Executive Head Chef Tim Strachan The Salisbury Restaurant Our new Restaurant offers a contemporary menu and superb wine list, with fantastic views over the sea and the famous Brighton Bandstand and West Pier providing a memorable backdrop. All dishes are homemade by our Executive Head Chef Tim Strachan. Time: 6.30Pm - 9.30Pm (Wednesday - Sunday) Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.