We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but dont pay full price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
west mids
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good but dont pay full price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for one night, the room was clean enough but the shower room was tired and very small .The double room was at the back of the hotel and very warm and stuffy, even with the windows open in November it was still very warm all night. The breakfast was ok and the staff helpful and polite. Not the greatest hotel and certainly not the worst. The location is great right on the seafront ,but the parking is £15 a night for a “mini” space at the front of the hotel.
OK for the price if you get a discount from a booking site you could do a lot worse in Brighton.

Room Tip: Park in Hove and walk 5 mins to the hotel it's only £5.00 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I aplogise we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. You found the hotel overly warm and as detailed in our guest room information fans are available from reception should you find your room warm. The radiators are also controlled in each individual bedroom. The parking does come up but with only 11 spaces they are in high demand. To overcome this issue for guest on where is the best to park we are going to add to our website complete information on parking in the city. This will also be displayed on the reception desk to ensure you are aware of your options.
Once again thank you for your review as it is you comments we use to decide how we can improve our product standards and service.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    204
    173
    90
    66
See reviews for
68
262
60
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My daughter and I spent a week at the Best Western in late November 2012, in order to visit relatives in Hove.

Check-in was fine, and the staff were helpful throughout our stay. (Any time we needed a cab, we'd call downstairs maybe half an hour ahead and they'd arrange it. We also asked the desk folks for directions from time to time, and they were very helpful then as well.)

The location is really nice - right across the street from the beach. (Note: if you know Brighton, the hotel is quite near the old West Pier, and directly across the street from the bandstand.) Walk east along the seafront a few blocks and you'll come to Preston Street, which is teeming with restaurants, many of which will do take-away. Or walk a few blocks uphill to Western Road, and there are plenty of shops, including grocery stores like the Co-Operative, Waitrose and Sainsbury, department stores like Marks & Spencer, and an enclosed shopping mall called Churchill Square.

Note that all rooms are non-smoking. As we have a lot of allergies, we were thankful for that.

I was surprised when we were given our room key; it was one of the old plastic kind with a pattern of 1/4-inch holes in them. My daughter had never even seen such a key before. The weird thing was, when we asked for a second key (we often came and went independently), they said they didn't have (and couldn't make) a duplicate, and we had to just leave the one room key at the front desk for the first one back to pick up. This usually worked OK, but one time when nobody was at the front desk, I put the key in the drop slot, and when my daughter returned to the hotel, it took the staff some time to think to look there; that drop slot is apparently just for when you check out.

The floors throughout the hotel are pretty wonky - bumpy and uneven, and sometimes not very level. I couldn't figure out why I kept sliding off our room's only chair, or why I tended to literally fall into bed, but I finally realized that the floors were just that tilted.

We had something called a Superior Twin with a Side Sea View. I must say, if this room was Superior, it would be entertaining to see an Inferior one :) The room was pretty small, with a tiny bathroom (stall shower only - no tub). We had fairly dirty windows, and they only opened 10 cm. There was a tiny table, one chair, a wardrobe (which was really only useful for hanging clothing), and a very narrow table or desk thing along one wall. There were two DINKY nightstands, maybe 10" by 10", each with a lamp taking up a good deal of that small space. There was a TV, but we didn't use it. There was also a small sort of end table with the tea things (electric kettle, tea bags, instant coffee, sugar, milk, and one small packet of biscuits); that tiny table had two little drawers in it.

The biggest problem was an almost total lack of storage space. When I travel, I like to unpack my stuff, and not really deal with my suitcase until I'm ready to pack up and leave. Unfortunately, the only drawers in the whole room were the ones in the tea table, and they were miniscule. A couple of small chests of drawers would have made a real difference to our comfort, and there was room for them, but they weren't provided. I had a large hard-sided suitcase with me, and it would not have been at all convenient to keep opening and shutting it, so I ended up leaving all my clothing in a pile in a corner of the room, which I found to be both uncomfortable and inconvenient.

BTW, someone remarked in their review that the rooms in the hotel were all the same; they most definitely are not, even from what little I saw! My sister-in-law was staying at the same hotel; she paid extra for a sea-view room, and the room itself was both spacious and lovely (fair enough, as she'd paid extra), but again, there was no chest of drawers, and she, too, found that both odd and inconvenient.

There wasn't really even space for the towels. (You were allotted one bath towel and one hand towel per person, per day; not sure what that reviewer meant who said there were plenty of towels.) Even with as few towels as we were given, there wasn't sufficient space to hang them. And the bathroom had only one tiny glass shelf for putting your stuff on - not really sufficient for even one person, unless you're only staying one night and you don't mind not really unpacking.

The room was fairly noisy, what with the combination of street sounds and thin walls; I'd recommend bringing ear plugs, but then, I usually need them in hotels.

I noticed a review that said there was no restaurant or bar downstairs. There is a small bar, right off the lobby, but no restaurant, other than the breakfast room.

Our room was heated via one good-sized radiator, which had a single control knob on it; you couldn't set a specific temperature to maintain, but you could figure out pretty quickly where to set the knob to get a comfortable temperature, and of course, you could drape clothing or damp towels over the radiator and they'd be dry and toasty warm shortly thereafter, which is the best thing about radiators.

The lift is tiny, but that's pretty common in this sort of old hotel, where it must have been retro-fit at some point, and they would have had to put in whatever they could jam in the space. It says it takes 3 people, or 2 if they have luggage, but if you have much luggage at all, it's a one-person lift.

The breakfast was decent, provided you got the full breakfast. (We stayed during what must be a pretty slow season, and they were running a deal where the full breakfast was almost free if you stayed for at least 3 days - that was a good deal.) Their "buffet" consisted of breads you could toast, really lovely baguettes (when they didn't run out), and a couple of cereals, so at 5 pounds, that was a lousy deal; the full breakfast included the "buffet" (that tiny offering scarcely deserves the name) as well as some set breakfasts you could order off the menu, e.g., traditional English, which included bacon, sausage, eggs done to order, beans, tomato and mushrooms. Or kippers, if you've got the stomach for them.

A couple of random notes: more pillows would have been very welcome; it was not at all comfortable to sit up and read in bed. And the rubber shower mat totally fills the floor of the tiny stall shower - which means that it blocks the drain. (Kind of silly to provide a mat that large.)

One last thing: when I checked out, our bill was close to 600 pounds for the 7 nights, which was exactly what I expected. The woman at the front desk (a nice woman from Lithuania) told me I could reclaim the VAT at the airport, as the hotel was in a tax-free zone. I wasn't expecting this, but since the VAT portion of the bill was over 90 pounds, I definitely sought out the VAT desk at the airport. The woman there told me I'd been "misled" about the VAT refund (she said it like the desk clerk had intentionally lied) - that the VAT refund is only for business travelers. I don't believe for a minute that the hotel clerk deliberately misled me; she'd been kind and helpful throughout the week, and besides, what would be the point of offering an enticement like that, when we were checking out? But it would probably be good if the staff were better informed so they wouldn't send other non-business travelers to try to reclaim their VAT.

Room Tip: The sea-view rooms are nice, but cost a bit more. The front sea-view rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay. The building is an Victorian and the sloping floor are the character of an older building. As you were staying for a week if you had mentioned the storage space to the reception team they would have tried to allocate you a larger room if one was available. The windows are regularly cleaned but it does depend on the weather especially southern winds from the coast deposit salt on the windows. The restriction on the opening of the windows is a UK health and safety regulation. The rooms have the same decor and furnishings and the difference is the size due to the changes in building over the years including adding bathrooms. The difference between the pricing of rooms is the sea view. We provide two hand towels and two bath towels per person. The hotel is graded a 3 star metro hotel which means limited service as we do not operate a restaurant. The restaurant is open for breakfast which includes a buffet of cereal, toast, bread and fruit juice and the cooked breakfast element is cooked to order from the menu placed on each table. Tea and coffee are served at the table. I apologise if the receptionist mislead you regarding the VAT refund at the airport. I will discuss this with the team.
Once again thank you for your comments as these are used to review our product and services.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having read some not so good reviews I would not normally have reserved here but I had to book a room at the last minute in Brighton and the price was reasonable so I took it. I was very pleasantly surprised from the moment I entered the attractive reception area and met the welcoming staff. My room was recently refurbished, clean and cosy with some nice touches such as plenty of towels and biscuits on the hospitality tray. The bathroom was absolutely tiny and I had to go up and down staricases after the lift to get to my room so it would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems. The breaksfast room was lovely with beautiful seaviews. There was a buffet of toast and cereal only and then you could order full English or something else, from the menu. Not as much choice as in some places but it was nice to be served something fresh rather than eggs which have been hanging around on a hotplate for hours! Its difficult to find a quiet hotel in Brighton as they are mostly along the seafront which has heavy traffic all night long. The hotels, such as this one, going over towards Hove are at least a bit away from the parties in the centre of town. Another plus with this particular hotel is that there are no bars or restaurants downstairs. All in all it was a very good option, good value and expect I will stay there again if I come to Brighton.

Room Tip: Generally in Brighton I wouldn't go for seaview rooms as they are on the main road and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire/Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night, the lobby is lovely, I was told I'd been upgraded. The room was a king size with sea view. The bathroom was awkward to enter and the door almost hit the bath the room was so small, the floor was shoddy and uneven. The sofa in front of the window had lots of stains on it, yuk.
I must say the bed was amazingly comfortable and breakfast for nice, lots of choice. I wouldn't choose to stay here again although the view was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location of the hotel is good - on the sea front but slightly away from noisy central Brighton. However, the room we stayed in (standard double) was tiny, overlooking the hotel's service area and some noisy a/c plant, and the bathroom was little more than a cupboard.

Breakfast was good, served in the restaurant downstairs, where we had fresh kippers along with the usual toast, cereals, etc.

It was adequate for a single night's stay, but I don't think we could have stayed any longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for a long weekend. We arrived quite late but still recevied a big welcoming smile from the night receptionist. It was like arriving home.Throughout the whole stay the staff could not have been nicer or more keen to help. They showed us the best places to eat (Lion and Lobster is just round the corner - really worth a visit). We could turn to them any time of the day, they had an answer for all our questions.
The room was perfectly clean, nicely furnished and had a superb view of the bandstand and the west pier.
I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Room was very small and the bathroom even smaller ! The room was on a fire escape, although there was a notice on the window, reading " this window does not open more than 10cm" ! so not sure how we would get out incase of a fire.

The breakfast was disappointing. There was only two choices of cereal. No fresh fruit, eg grapefruit segments,prunes etc. The full english breakfast was disappointing, although i never had it, my mate ordered it but wasn't over keen.

This hotel never offered a dinner at night.

I have stayed in a few Best Westerns and i would say that this one is the most disappointing and i would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade II listed BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel is one of the best hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a welcome and is located directly on the seafront, opposite the famous West Pier and band stand. Just a short walk to the main shopping areas, the Lanes, conference centre and just a stones throw from the beach the BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel the perfect hotel in which to stay while in Brighton. Brighton railway station, with direct connections to London, is only 20 minute walk or short taxi ride away. The elegant lounge and bar have perhaps the most enviable sea views of any hotels in Brighton. The hotel boasts 55 well appointed rooms, many of which command direct sea views and are equipped with all the facilities expected of a quality hotel. Directly opposite the BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel on the beach is a wonderful children's play area complete with paddling pool, swings and sand pits. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As an AA Metro hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available Wednesday to Sunday 6.30Pm till 9.30Pm and our Lite Bite Menu which is available 7 days a week from 12pm till 5pm. Breakfast We're extremely proud of the breakfasts we provide. Along with the traditional full English platter, we also do a mean pancake stack, layered with yogurt and fresh berries! If you prefer, try our homemade granola, whole kippers from the Rye or poached Haddock from Newhaven. Whatever you fancy, well set you up for the day. Monday - Friday 7.00Am-10.00Am Saturday and Sunday (and bank holidays) 8.00Am - 11.00Am Lite Bite Menu Available 7 days a week from 12pm to 5pm. All dishes are homemade by our Executive Head Chef Tim Strachan The Salisbury Restaurant Our new Restaurant offers a contemporary menu and superb wine list, with fantastic views over the sea and the famous Brighton Bandstand and West Pier providing a memorable backdrop. All dishes are homemade by our Executive Head Chef Tim Strachan. Time: 6.30Pm - 9.30Pm (Wednesday - Sunday) Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.