We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preto got it wrong with the location of this Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PRETO

PRETO
65-75 West Strees, Brighton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #408 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: BN1 2RA
Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Preto got it wrong with the location of this Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Paid £19.95 for the meat option. Meat was generally nice but very salty. Drinks expensive. Buffet was fresh but couldn't tell what everything was as there are no labels on anything, its all on the menu which was taken away at the beginning.
We all agreed that the big mistake Preto have made with this new restaurant was the West Street location. With the huge glass windows we had a great view of all the dishevelled night clubber / drinkers heading to surrounding nightclubs, not pleasant. leaving restaurant as this the the part of town that we usually avoid. Would we go again..NO!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    49
    20
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is brazilian buffet with meat option at 19£ plus expensive drinks and service.
the buffet part is tired and the meat is varied from unedible (salty!!!) to very nice. You tend to get meat very well done so if you prefer medium or rare this is not your place. so to sum up, this could have been but isn't the place to go to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Om Nom Nom Nom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The title of my review accurately sums up our experience!

This is not a good place to go if you are a vegetarian. The focus here is on meat.

Both times i've been we have opted for the 'all you can meat' option. That is to say you pay £20 and you get free run of the salad bar and they don't stop presenting you with skewers of meat until you want them to... then if you decide you can manage more they will come back.

Its quite a novel experience but you get used to it. The salad is fresh and there are potatoes and rice and pasta dishes there as well (beware sometimes their olives have quite a lot of chilli in).
There is a variety of meat offered, to give you an idea we had: chorizo sausage, pork sausage, roast lamb, gammon, rib-eye steak, sirloin steak, neck of beef, pepper steak, topside, silver side, rump steak, pork, chicken, chicken wrapped in bacon, garlic chicken, chicken hearts.. i think that was it!
The meat is of good quality and cooked to perfection.
We found the staff to be polite and fairly quiet.
A good wine list compliments the food.
The deserts are also really yummy.
Be warned though, you may not want to eat for a few days afterward!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very overpriced and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had heard about this restaurant from a few people and so we decided to try. Unfortunately, we wished we hadn't!

BEWARE - the small print on the menu says that they will add a mandatory 10% service charge to the bill which really stinks - if a restaurant wants to charge more for what it's selling then put the prices up - don't charge people by stealth! I was going to give it 2 stars but that knocked a full star off - especially as we didn't get to see the menu long enough to discover this before eating. That kind of scalping isn't something I've encountered in Brighton before and I personally think is reprehensible and underhand behaviour.

First of all, it's £20 a head if you want the full experience (or £22 if you include the service charge) which if it was done really well wouldn't be a problem but when the food is mediocre at best then it starts to look very expensive. There is a £15 option but that only covers the buffet and doesn't include the carved meat at the table so we opted for the more expensive option.

At this point I should say that we ate there on a Tuesday evening and despite the area being quite busy, the restaurant was fairly quiet. The greeter was friendly and showed us to a table quickly and left us with a "menu" which is really a book that explains the two options and then some pages telling you what the different food was. Unfortunately, when the waiter came and took our order he took the books away so we didn't get the key to explain what the buffet contained - still, that could add to the excitement right? A mystery tour style buffet with things you don't know about!

We went to the hot buffet first and there are a number of different things that are covered in breadcrumbs - two of them turned out to be very like Findus crispy pancakes but less tasty (I didn't know that was possible!). One of them looked like a potato croquette but turned out to be a potato and banana thing of some sort and I'm still not sure what the other one was.

There was also a dish that looked like a lasagne which was ok but not really what we were there for. The chips weren't at all good and there was some sort of ham and cabbage dish which was quite nice.

We did look at the salad bar but it was dire - any Harvester would put it to shame in a huge way and so I passed on that.

Then we got to the main event - the meat. There is a little card that has a red and a green side - you turn it to the green side when you want more meat. They waiters brought around a variety of meat - mostly beef but we also had a piece of lamb, a piece of chicken and a very fatty sausage. The beef and lamb wasn't bad quality but it did seem overcooked and a little chewy but not awful by any stretch.

Overall, it was not worth the money at all and I was very disappointed to have gone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really nice, not good if you are on a diet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We went last night, I would recommend, the staff are really friendly the foods good, however, if you are a light eater do not go for the £ 19.95 all you can eat, I did and I ate far too much, worth a try if you are in the area

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PRETO also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to PRETO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PRETO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.