We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Tea Rooms

Blackbird Tea Rooms
30 Ship Street | BN1 1AD, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
+44 1273 249454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Recently awarded the accolade of "Best Tea & Cakes in Brighton" (Brighton Source Magazine), Blackbird Tea Rooms with its quintessentially English traditional style, has become the favourite retreat of lovers of good old fashioned quality and service. In addition to our traditional tea and cakes we also have a wide selection great breakfast and lunch dishes (see website for menu). We are very busy all day both Saturday & Sunday and therefore are unable to take reservations for the weekends (sorry).
Shoreham
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent location, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I ate lunch at the Blackbird with a friend of mine recently. Whilst waiting for my friend to arrive, I had a cup of coffee which was one of the best cups of coffee I've ever drunk. When my friend arrived, we both had a cheese scone filled with cheddar cheese and onion marmalade. It was absolutely delicious. I was greedy and followed this with a large slice of coffee and walnut cake, which was also scrumptious. My only bugbear would be the strength of a pot of looseleaf tea which I drank with my lunch. It was rather weak. Other than that I can't fault a thing.

The waitresses were attentive and delightful. The ambience was wonderful with vintage music playing in the background (not at all obtrusively). The prices are about what one would expect to pay in Brighton. The location is very central. I recommend this café highly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“mmmm yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we walked past on our first day in brighton and saw a queue thought that looks like a good place.the next day we went in and were lucky as a table was just being cleared.the service was really good lady was really helpful without being in your face. made my 8year old feel very welcome even though she didnt want anything.the cakes were amazing and very large portions couldnt believe the price.if you like homemade cakes this place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went there in the summer heatwave with a friend. Sat out in the courtyard in the sunshine which was lovely. We had the afternoon tea. Beautifully presented & very yummy but we were disappointed that it didn't come with range of sandwich fillings (i.e. just one flavour per person), surely the idea is that you have a variety? They did give us an extra flavour but then charged us the full price of an extra sandwich. They did make us aware of this prior to our ordering though. I would go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sweet tea room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely latte and passion fruit and banana cake. Yummy. Very sweet tea shop and lovey staff. Well worth a visit and good value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“gorgeous little tearoom tucked away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Amazing Tea Rooms - almost feels like you are back in the 1940's - Earl Grey tea lovely - scones lovely, cakes lovely - staff really lovely and friendly - drop 1 star for the heat in the tea room - bit uncomfortable in the summer - need a fan put in the upstairs part - courtyard at the back is small yet inviting! keep up the good work - just need an electric fan upstairs! - as it can get sweltering and uncomfortable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Tea Rooms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Blackbird Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.