We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is average, the restaurant service is extremely poor.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
Hotel Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Marina, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Alias Hotel Seattle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
1 review
“Hotel is average, the restaurant service is extremely poor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Seattle for two nights 13th and 14th September 2013. The hotel room was ok, quite basic but good enough, much like a Premier inn. The shower looked fabulous but was a real let down, took a long time for the water to heat and only produced a dribble rather than a downpour! The bar service was slow and the service in the restaurant was nothing short of appalling considering the high prices charged. Restaurant staff hadn't a clue who had been served or who was waiting to be served. Communication was not good as the standard of English being spoken by some of the staff was very poor. The breakfast took ages to come, toast was cold, tea bags were not placed in the tea pots and there was a lack of butter available. The sausage was fatty and of a poor quality, the bacon tough and salty and the beans cold. All in all, whilst the hotel itself was ok if rather average the restaurant was probably the worst I have experienced. Most cheap B&B's produce better food and better service. My advise would be to try a Premier Inn, better service and just as good decor & comfort. The Seattle Brighton is not worthy of its 4 star rating and is definitely not value for money. It's one of those establishments that is marketing itself as a quality hotel which it simply is not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    312
    137
    59
    34
See reviews for
107
422
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If we hadn't made the mistake of paying to eat here I would have scored it higher.

We stayed here for my husband's birthday so were looking forward to a nice break. Because we had a package that included dinner on one of the nights we booked a table on his big day and then decided to pre-book a table for Sunday lunch, for when we arrived. 2 of the biggest mistakes I made with this booking!

When we arrived for lunch there was a function in the room next door. It seemed to have a massive impact on the 'normal' restaurant customers as we were virtually ignored. Our food order wasn't even taken until over 45 minutes after we'd been seated. The food was nice but the portion sizes were very mean - especially considering what we were being charged. All in all it took nearly 2 hours for 2 courses. Luckily we weren't in a hurry.

Anyway, optimistically we hoped things would be better at breakfast the next day. It wasn't. To say it was chaos was putting it lightly. We were surrounded by unhappy guests complaining and saw a few walk out in disgust. But having already paid we persevered. Another mistake. Our table wasn't even laid properly - we were missing the salt & pepper and conserves we could see on some of the other tables and our (cold) toast didn't arrive until we'd nearly finished eating. You have to order a cooked breakfast, which seemed to be the main hold up as while there were lots of staff, only a couple were taking orders. I think a little training in multi tasking would help here! I don't think as many people would have walked out if they hadn't felt they were being ignored.
When the cooked breakfast finally arrived it was nice enough, but again did not reflect the (£13.50!) price tag in any shape or form. I've paid a lot less for nicer breakfasts.

Dinner was a little better, but again was lacking in portion sizes. Luckily we'd had lunch, because breakfast had left us still hungry (we normally skip lunch after a cooked breakfast). Although when we arrived, only a couple of minutes late for our booked time, they seemed surprised to see us. Also it was our waiter's first day and he was struggling a little understanding us, but he seemed really sweet and we're not ogres so felt for the poor chap.

The room was nice though. We'd booked a larger executive room so had plenty of space and the IPod dock was really cool. There were some light stains on the carpet, but I don't imagine a hotel can shampoo their carpets on a daily basis and the rest of the room was pristine. We even had 'his & hers' sinks, which was different.

The free parking was a bonus too, as you can get the Volks railway (3 minutes walk from the hotel) or a bus into the city centre. Which made for a lovely hassle free couple of days for hubby.

All in all the hotel is pleasant and the reception staff are lovely. But I would recommend you don't pay for breakfast, lunch or dinner! Which is actually not a problem as being in the marina it is literally surrounded by loads of quality restaurants and shops. You could probably stay for over a week and eat at a different place. Something we're planning on doing on future.

Room Tip: The 'inland view' rooms would probably be better at weekends as we noticed the 'marina v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed in Seattle quite a lot over last 3 months whike working and I must say I almost look forward to be leaving home.
Location is fantastic, rooms overlooking marina are amazing, well worth paying that little extra otherwise you are overlooking Asda carpark.
Rooms facing marina superbly spacious,clean, amazingly comfy beds and a view to die for.
Staff always warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
Can't comment on breakfast but deffo enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace in warm sunny summer evening
My first choice in Brighton every time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night and thought the room and hotel decor was fantastic, lots of white fittings so the whole place felt airy and light but also very trendy with great pictures and sofas etc. Our room was perfect too, not a sea view but still big and all the things we needed were provided. Had drink in the bar which is great and has a marina view.
Breakfast food was good and sufficient quantities but there was not enough staff on hand to get everyone seated, replenish glasses and to take the orders for cooked breakfasts etc. The staff that were working were excellent and obviously working hard to keep people happy.
A little out of town but we got the beach side train down to the hotel which was handy, lots of restaurants over looking the marina too beside the hotel. Would I stay again - YES

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is about a mile from the town centre, but there are excellent bus links running, and a very safe walkway along the beach. We found the rooms to be very comfortable, nicely decorated with everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent, contrary to other reviews on here. Would absolutely come back! If you want a quieter retreat from the city centre this is the hotel for you. It is very chic in its decor, with a good mix of guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Got married here 8 years ago and had a fantastic day. Now back here with the children and it hasn't changed. Having a drink in the bar and relaxing. Bar staff and kitchen staff going that extra mile to keep the children happy. (Cheesy chips and warm milk!!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked this for an overnight stay in Brighton for my partners birthday. Loved the decor of the hallways, which had the feel of being on an ocean liner with portholes and the design of the room doors.
The room was nice, clean and practical. Bathroom was again nice clean and practical with some nice toiletries. We had a sea view room and there was a door that led onto a balcony shared by the rooms on this floor. Was a little concerned that the marina area was quite busy with restaurants and the like but could not hear a thing in the room itself, even with the window open.
In the morning the breakfast was very nice, we were one of the first people down for breakfast and so had the full selection and plenty of staff.
Would stop again, if we were wanting a very nice hotel in Brighton i.e. a special occasion. But would normally go for a slightly cheaper option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Address: Brighton Marina, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Alias Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Seattle, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.