We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Customer Care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seattle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Marina, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Alias Hotel Seattle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Brighton
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Customer Care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When at an event the day following a stay at the hotel a member of staff from the hotel recognised my wife and asked if the stay at The Seattle had been good. This was an extraordinarily good piece of marketing by the staff member and we shall remember this when next booking.

PS we did enjoy the stay and in particular the restaurant eating.

Room Tip: Makwe sure its a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    258
    115
    52
    30
See reviews for
90
350
14
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked here with lastminute.com when we discovered that the hotel we were due to be staying at for a hen do (The Lansdowne) had gone into administration!
Clean, bright, modern. Spacious rooms (although our heated towel rail in the bathroom didn't work). Good choice for breakfast, and friendly staff. Only niggle was the extremely slow service at the bar in the afternoon.
Good location - lovely spa underneath.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Seattle Hotel for one night on business. The hotel has lovely decor - modern but with a quality feel. Nice carpets, art in the corridors, wide and spacious. On entering the hotel, I was really excited by it and was expecting the room to be really special. It was nice, great big bed, nice simple white sheets - but it was lacking in nice touches to make it special. No water in the room, no mini bar, no climate control...which meant the room was really hot. To cool it down to sleep, i had to open the window...which was noisy. In order to let air in, I also had to prop the curtain open, which let in the 'blue' neon glow that the whole marina is bathed in....rock and a hard place..so I sweltered. It was a nice room overall, nice furniture..but all a bit stark and without the nice touches, jus left me flat.

Breakfast was nice, in a waterfront terrace restaurant...but it was slow. When you are a business guest, you wan breakfast quick. It took 15mins for my tea to arrive and 25 mins for my moked salmon and scrambled eggs...i thought 30 mins would be ample time for breakfast. The only thing to stop me staying here again...would be the room temperature, other than that...simple, good, but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Get a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Seattle with my partner for just one night and it was lovely. The room was very modern and had a good tv with freeview and an impressive iPod/iphone docking system which we were not expecting. The kettle did not reach the plug socket though... by far. Wasn't a major issue, just abit strange. We stayed in a room with the sea view which was beautiful. The surroundings of the hotel were good, there is bingo, cinema, many different restaurants, supermarket, fitness facilities etc. It's not that close to the train station but the number 7 bus runs straight into the centre often £4.60 for two adults. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but we did have breakfast. It was very nice, the staff were extremely friendly and the food was good. Overall the hotel was very beautiful the view was amazing and the area is perfect if you want a fairly chilled quiet stay not smack bang in the centre but close enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Me and my partner fancied a trip away to brighton, took us a little while to find the hotel entrance as its a little tucked in. When we got to reception we didnt get greeted as well as expected (kind of felt we shouldn't have been there), but apart from this incident the rest of the stay was lovely, clean bedroom (the outside window could do with a clean) the room was very nice exactly what we payed for, the view was incredible especially at night time. the kettle plug didnt quiet reach but after a good laugh it didnt bother us. staff at breakfast were very good and friendly. the location was excellent a little further away from the train station then expected but thats our planning at fault. the hotel itself though was surrounded by a very good and varied selection of restuarants and shops with a supermarket close by. we would love to stay again.

Room Tip: inland view didnt look very appealing when we did catch a glimpse through an open room and when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We frequently stay here when visiting our son who lives in Brighton. Obviously as we have returned many times, we essentially are happy, but this last visit left quite a lot to be desired. Firstly the whole place has a tired look about it. The main carpet is grubby and the bathrooms now need a make over. Most distressing was the filthy duvet popping out of the duvet cover at the feet end. I only noticed it as we were leaving and would have photographed it given more time. It looked like menstrual stains, and it really put me off! We were given twin rooms because there were obviously no doubles available. My mattress sank so badly in the middle, I had a desperate two nights sleep and it really has to be replaced.

The evening meal was an unpleasant experience. This was part of the package, although we included our son for the meal with us as an extra, Two of the first choices of mine were off the menu. I finally opted for a fish cake followed by fish pie. Both were essentially the same and mostly potato rather than fish, and they tasted the same. We were served the wine, but the waitress then said we were lucky to have the last bottle! Even the ice cream was served different from our chosen choice! Surely a restaurant of this prominence should cater for their expected guests. This was Friday night! In the past the restaurant used to be in the basement and was a pleasant experience offering a wide choice of imaginative meals cooked and served well. We were told the hotel was now under new management! Maybe that is the problem! I don't think we will eat there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for business. Staff were ok bar staff bit slow but no major issue. The room was ok but cold and the white makes the cold room feel even colder. It feels in need of some personality injection! Breakfast was cold and the coffee to cold for me the staff were bit offhand and overall felt not as good as I would have expected.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Hotel

Address: Brighton Marina, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Alias Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seattle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Seattle. A contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to make the best of Brighton’s vibrant life & somewhere to enjoy relaxed hospitality, intriguing menus & ocean views. Seattle is a hotel to explore. Sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you. Relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening, whilst you choose from our modern British menu. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You’ll find them friendly, intelligent and never shy with an opinion on where to go in Brighton so anything you need, just ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.