We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay but the kettle didnt reach the plug” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
Hotel Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Marina, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Alias Hotel Seattle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
bedford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay but the kettle didnt reach the plug”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Me and my partner fancied a trip away to brighton, took us a little while to find the hotel entrance as its a little tucked in. When we got to reception we didnt get greeted as well as expected (kind of felt we shouldn't have been there), but apart from this incident the rest of the stay was lovely, clean bedroom (the outside window could do with a clean) the room was very nice exactly what we payed for, the view was incredible especially at night time. the kettle plug didnt quiet reach but after a good laugh it didnt bother us. staff at breakfast were very good and friendly. the location was excellent a little further away from the train station then expected but thats our planning at fault. the hotel itself though was surrounded by a very good and varied selection of restuarants and shops with a supermarket close by. we would love to stay again.

Room Tip: inland view didnt look very appealing when we did catch a glimpse through an open room and when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    313
    137
    59
    34
See reviews for
107
422
19
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We frequently stay here when visiting our son who lives in Brighton. Obviously as we have returned many times, we essentially are happy, but this last visit left quite a lot to be desired. Firstly the whole place has a tired look about it. The main carpet is grubby and the bathrooms now need a make over. Most distressing was the filthy duvet popping out of the duvet cover at the feet end. I only noticed it as we were leaving and would have photographed it given more time. It looked like menstrual stains, and it really put me off! We were given twin rooms because there were obviously no doubles available. My mattress sank so badly in the middle, I had a desperate two nights sleep and it really has to be replaced.

The evening meal was an unpleasant experience. This was part of the package, although we included our son for the meal with us as an extra, Two of the first choices of mine were off the menu. I finally opted for a fish cake followed by fish pie. Both were essentially the same and mostly potato rather than fish, and they tasted the same. We were served the wine, but the waitress then said we were lucky to have the last bottle! Even the ice cream was served different from our chosen choice! Surely a restaurant of this prominence should cater for their expected guests. This was Friday night! In the past the restaurant used to be in the basement and was a pleasant experience offering a wide choice of imaginative meals cooked and served well. We were told the hotel was now under new management! Maybe that is the problem! I don't think we will eat there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for business. Staff were ok bar staff bit slow but no major issue. The room was ok but cold and the white makes the cold room feel even colder. It feels in need of some personality injection! Breakfast was cold and the coffee to cold for me the staff were bit offhand and overall felt not as good as I would have expected.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Twice tried to charge us for requesting part of our prepaid breakfast to be wrapped in foil for takeaway. And hoped to get away with £6.50 each time..... Felt like they wanted to find any angle possible to squeeze extra cash out of us. Also found hotel to be very dirty...terrible stains on hallway carpets. Would not go back there! I felt sorry for a wedding party staying there, imagining what they might be trying to charge them for!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel mid Feb, 2013 and found it to be a pleasant hotel. The reception is friendly as are the bar staff, though the waiters during breakfast could put a smile on and not look like they were doing community service, other than that, the rooms were comfortable, nice view of the Marina, we liked the touch of the iPod docking station.It is a sort of boutique type of hotel, but not quite, which was fine for us. Breakfast was a good English, but as I said the staff waiting on tables were a miserable (except the chap who showed us to our table, I would assume he was the manager!). We would stay again, so thumbs up.

Room Tip: May I suggest using the hotel during the summer and get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I know the area well and booked the Hotel as was competing in Brighton Half Marathon, the start for which was only 1 mile walk away. Although, I know the area well, I had never stayed in the Hotel before and for the prices they charge was disapointed. On the positive side, parking is free and relatively close by and the area itself has plenty to do, with many restaurants and bars, cinema, bowling and casino. The staff were polite and helpful and the room was clean and tidy. The continental buffet breakfast had a wide range to offer and was good value for money. The range of cooked breakfasts were reasonable, but overpriced.
On the negaitve side, the hair dryer was missing from the room and the next two delivered to our room, both blew after 30 seconds. The third one worked fine. The room itself was very basic and not what I would expect for that sum of money. There were only 3 drawers and No cupoards and No Wardrobe, just a couple of hooks on the wall with 4 hangers on them. There is no air conditioning, so the room was very warm making it difficult to sleep and unless you pay extra your view is a brick wall. The Hotel bar prices are excessive at more than twice the price of the drinks in the pubs/bars a short walk away. I know Brighton is expensive, but for a Hotel that is not in the centre of town it is overpriced and lacking in facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed on the 20th of Feb for 1 night for my partners birthday and wow what a hotel! All the positive reviews I had read were spot on spacious rooms, glorious views and breakfast was literally incredible! Fresh slices of melon,danishes,croissants,cereals,4 kinds of juice and the cooked breakfast went to the next level everything was cooked to perfection and as a chef myself would have been proud to send out that breakfast as my own. Overall an amazing hotel tastefully decorated reasonably priced great staff,service and food! Would give 10 stars but 5 out of 5

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Address: Brighton Marina, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Alias Hotel Seattle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Seattle, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.