We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely food, and nice service. Shame about the noise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anatolia Cuisine

Anatolia Cuisine
51 St James Street, Brighton BN2 1QG, England
1273 693467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really lovely food, and nice service. Shame about the noise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had come in the evening before for some baklava to soothe our nerves after a terrible meal at another restaurant. Bog standard though the baklava was it was, we noticed the open charcoal grill and vowed to return for some fresh food after the awful reheated chicken experience of that day.

We did, for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. We ordered falafal, and chicken and lamb kebabs. The service, while very friendly, was a little slow- the waitress struggled to get our orders due to work men obstructing her way- but everything came within a reasonable time. There were drilling and works happening out back, which were inappropriate and loud, though thankfully, brief. While our waitress didn't come and apologise for it of her own volition, she was sweet in her assurances that it would soon be over, when we asked. Based on the bad reviews on this website, I assume they are in the midst of a refit- the toilet cistern even h

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    8
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really lovely food, and nice service. Shame about the noise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had come in the evening before for some baklava to soothe our nerves after a terrible meal at another restaurant. Bog standard though the baklava was it was, we noticed the open charcoal grill and vowed to return for some fresh food after the awful reheated chicken experience of that day.

We did, for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. We ordered falafal, and chicken and lamb kebabs. The service, while very friendly, was a little slow- the waitress struggled to get our orders due to work men obstructing her way- but everything came within a reasonable time. There were drilling and works happening out back, which were inappropriate and loud, though thankfully, brief. While our waitress didn't come and apologise for it of her own volition, she was sweet in her assurances that it would soon be over, when we asked. Based on the bad reviews on this website, I assume they are in the midst of a refit- the toilet cistern even had it's label still on it!) and everything seemed clean.

The food was very tasty. The salad accompanying the meals, though unexciting, was crisp and fresh, and the rice was tasty, (though didn't resemble the rice I usually have in Turkish eateries). The lamb was slightly tough, but seasoned very well, and tasted excellent. The chicken was very tender, and also tasty. We would definitely come again, if in Brighton, for a simple, tasty meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ignore the decor & focus on the food :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This places doesn't look all that from the outside or the inside but the food is absolutely amazing! Cooked in front of you and every mouthful is so succulent! We got the mixed grill for 2 and a mix of hot and cold meze - superb!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good service and great food, mainly BBQ in front of your eyes! I am Greek and I o appreciate middle eastern food. It can get a bit expensive if one is not careful with drinks etc.

I will go there again and again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great budget lunch menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A starter of felalfel, delicious chicken Shish ke bab with bread and salad, and a drink all for £7.95. Staff were friendly! Only bad thing is I got yellow paint on my good black coat, as they were painting the outside of the shop!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anatolia Cuisine also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Anatolia Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anatolia Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.