We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to be my local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bristol Bar

The Bristol Bar
Paston Place | Kemp Town, Brighton, England
+44 1273 605687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Bristol is a fabulous seafront pub with panoramic sea views, great traditional food and wonderful Sunday lunches. A warm welcome awaits the discerning customer who appreciates something a little bit special. Dog & child friendly. Our dog Drogo is usually on hand to say hello. Please note, we do not allow hen or stag parties. Fancy dress only by prior arrangement and regrettably we cannot accommodate Proud Cabaret customers.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lucky to be my local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is my local pub, the staff are friendly, the drinks are reasonable and the food is good. It's also very dog friendly. I can't ask for more. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
And we're lucky to have great locals! Thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire. UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected for a Monday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Six of us were renting a property nearby for a few days and, after checking on Trip Advisor for local restaurants, decided to walk to the Bristol Bar for our first dinner in Brighton.

First impressions from the outside might make you think that you are in for some 'pub grub' but that is so far from the truth.

All six of us enjoyed food that was freshly cooked from a comprehensive and innovative menu. My spring vegetable risotto was fabulous and tasted so fresh.

Highly recommended for dinner and the beer's not bad either!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for all the positive feedback. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went to The Bristol on a Thursday lunch time and it was fairly busy. We had the soup, two lasagnes and a lamb shank. My lamb shank was beautifully cooked and the other meals were apparently of the same standard. The barman was our waiter too and he was very professional and friendly. He came over about five minutes after we received our mains (which I like people to do but seems like people aren't doing it much anymore) to check everything was ok, which it was. It is a dog friendly pub so there were a few in there but I love dogs so it didn't bother me. Overall experience was lovely, we would of had a sea view if it hadn't been so foggy! Food was very homely and filled us up. Shame I didn't have room for dessert as I'm sure they would have been scrummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Having recently had a change of personnel in the kitchen it is really nice to get such a glowing review of the food. Thank you. And come back soon........it is almost always sunny here! You were a little unlucky not to get the spectacular sea view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, very clean and comfy. Popped in for a few drinks on Monday evening and have been very pleased. Archy looked very well after us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for the great review and I'll pass on your comments to Archy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A colleague recommended the Bristol Bar as a good place for a social gathering on a recent trip to Brighton. On the Tuesday evening we were there, there was a good atmosphere in the establishment and we were able to easily obtain a space for our party to occupy. The menu was limited, but offered sufficient options. Food was hot and served promptly and was good.

A very pleasant place to spend the evening. The dog lover in our party was planning another visit as we left - with her canine companion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrogoBrighton, Owner at The Bristol Bar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for the review and the positive comments. We have to limit the menu size to some extent as everything is homemade. I tend to worry when you see huge pub menus as you know it has all arrived in the back of a lorry and made it's way to your plate via a freezer and a fat fryer! We always try to offer a balance of dishes and I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bristol Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Bristol Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bristol Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.