We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely huge suite, but don't bother with the breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely huge suite, but don't bother with the breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Nice hotel, close by to the lanes and Pier. Lovely courtyards to sit out in nice weather.
Top floor suite is huge and has a small balcony and is great if you don't mind going
up three flights of stairs. Lovely bar next door which serves food. Everything was great
except for the breakfast, we had waited an hour for it and to be honest wasn't worth the
wait, don't have it unless it is included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    225
    113
    57
    23
See reviews for
67
413
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We've stayed at this hotel a few times now and each stay has been superb. I love how the place is that perfect mix of being stylish and elegant yet comfortable and unpretentious. Also, it's location really can't be bettered - close to the beach and a few steps away from the Lanes.
This is the first time we've stayed in a standard room but we weren't let down or disappointed . It was bright and airy and the only thing different was that it didn't have that fabulous rolltop bath that you get with the more upscale rooms. We were there with friends who booked the same type of room and they even had a small decked terrace outside theirs - so they were happy too. The terrific guy behind the front desk, Zoltan, was so helpful and cheery everytime we saw him and he went out of his way to do things for not just us but the other guests as well. I can't commend him enough.
We tried out the new Pub du Vin next door rather than the Bistro again. The menu was short but the food and wine were the same high quality that you'd expect and the ale selection was very good according to our friends who are keen on that sort of thing. The awful weather could have made our trip miserable but thanks to the Hotel and Pub du Vin we had a night of good food, drink and a very comfortable bed. Oh...and the breakfast is top notch as well.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Having stayed in a number of Hotel du Vin hotels I can honestly say that this is definately the worst. The reception staff were overworked, stressed, poorly trained and rarely there. The rooms are noisy, mainly as they are situated around an outside bar area.

The restaurant had excellent staff with excellent food with a stunning wine list.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I really don't want to review this hotel, for fear that people overrun it and I can't stay here again - it's so lovely.

The room we had, while small, was gorgeously appointed, with the most amazing bathroom and REALLY comfortable bed.

The hotel itself is in an old storage building and there are several lovely touches where the beams and brickwork have been left exposed, which look great. The bar is huge, with a wonderful gallery, and an outside seating area which is great for catching the last rays of the sun every evening.

It goes without saying that the wine list is exemplary, and the staff are so helpful, recommending new choices or giving advice on food matches at the wonderful restaurant.

All in all, a gorgeous place to stay and relax. Highly recommended.

Oh, and they also have a pub next door and meeting rooms which looked lovely.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel du Vin, Brighton, for the first time this month. We have previously stayed at the Hotel du Vin Harrogate (great place, highly recommended!) and the Brighton hotel is just as good. The building is wonderfully quirky. We stayed in a superior room with monsoon shower and bath: very nice. The bar area and restaurant as attractive as usual (we have dined at the Winchester and Tunbridge Wells restaurants as well).The dinner was very good, as was the breakfast. The hotel is two steps to the sea front and an easy walk to many places of interest. We would stay there again. The only sour note was caused by the chief receptionist who was sharp with the young woman behind the counter with him. She took the critisism well but it was unfair: he was the one who was at fault.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in July. This was our second visit and once again we were very impressed. We were given a room in Pub Du Vin, up in the attic. The sound proofing was excellent, the bathroom was huge and the bath and shower were both fantastic. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean.

When we arrived it was very windy and a metal sign outside (which had nothing to do with the hotel) was banging against a pole. I was impressed later on to see the Du Vin staff taking down the sign. This goes to show that Hotel Du Vin will take that extra step to ensure their customers are comfortable and enjoy their stay.

We had a few drinks in the bar which has a relaxed atmosphere with lots of candles. We didn't eat in the bistro this time but the food was very good when we ate there on our last stay.

This hotel cannot be faulted, the customer service is excellent and the rooms are perfect. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin Brighton during a very hot weekend in late May – we managed to get a really good deal on a Sunday night, which we were delighted with.

The hotel is in a super location, in trendy Ship Street, tucked in the Lanes, just off the Sea front. Having done plenty of research and read many mixed reports on Trip Advisor, we were really pleased with our choice. Some reviews seemed to be quite negative, but then we didn’t pay the full rack rate, so our thoughts reflect that.

Check-in was easy and staff were very welcoming, despite arriving at a very busy time, just after the Brighton festival when lots of people were checking in/out. We parked the car and had a wander to the Marina, which was super in the hot weather.

Our room was amazing and we had a terrace (decked area) to the back of the hotel which was very welcome in the heat and we were the only guests using the terrace.

Our bathroom was just fantastic, with our roll-top bath in an ‘upstairs’ room to the WC/sink area, also with a fabulous walk-in shower area. Great hairdryer, safe, robes in the room, quality magazines etc.

Facilities were superb, gorgeous products in the bathroom, ‘real’ milk in the fridge, tea and coffee for the morning.

Part of our deal was to dine in the bistro, so we enjoyed a couple of cocktails at the fabulous bar – a very relaxed area, with an upstairs mezzanine floor and possibly the most attentive and talented barmen we have come across in our travels – thank you for super cocktails!

We had a very good meal and the Bistro was buzzing, particularly considering it was a Sunday night. The wine list is very extensive and some good prices – less than you would expect to pay in this type of establishment (there are also some scary prices for vintage wines!)

We didn’t have breakfast, but picked up a coffee and a Danish in a café very close by, choosing to indulge instead at lunchtime!

All in all, a very good stay and we would definitely stay again, particularly if we were able to get a deal.

Highly recommended – check out the website for offers!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.