We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapponting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Disapponting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Average food and poor service from a young team! Not what we expected, considering the prices charged and fabulous experience we get at Winchester. However, a reasonable complaint to the manager helped smooth things out. A bit of a pro, his team should learn from him.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    235
    122
    61
    23
See reviews for
70
440
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband booked the night at this hotel as a birthday treat for me. Having stayed at the Tunbridge Wells hotel several times my expectations were quite high. We arrived at around 6.30 and were shown to our room. This was on the ground floor, through the courtyard first room on the left (sorry I cant remember the room name). The room itself was very small and might I say a bit sad. Nothing in particular, it was just more of a business type hotel room rather than a romantic getaway (from the kids and work and real life) let yourself relax and indulge kind of room. The bathroom was fine. I actually think this was a room for disabled customers (and if it is, HDV should be working much harder for their custom !). Anyway……

We went for drinks in the bar - great V&T and then on to dinner. We were seated in the dining room (tables for two VERY close together - might as well have been on the same table as the two couples on either side). Service was efficient until the sommelier came over and my goodness she was GOOD ! I don't know much about wine, just what I like, and I like (occasionally) a nice bottle of Gewurztraminer. Her knowledge was fantastic, we learnt so much about wine - and she was lovely (Martina I hope ?) - HDV you are lucky to have her, she is a total asset to you. My dinner was hardly exciting but that is my general feeling about this hotel, nothing special at all. (Apart from Martina)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Two weeks ago we stayed at Hotel Du Vin, Brighton for client function. The rooms on the 3rd floor are superb, and the bed is extremely comfy with all modern facilities in the room needed.

The bar is quality, as is the restaurant is equally as good, with a location in the Lanes, Have stayed 4 times now will continue to do so.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We dined at H du V on Saturday evening. The restaurant was busy.
Unfortunately the food and service was poor. The scallops were disappointing with the wrong sauce. The lamb was undercooked and had to go back. The cauliflower side order was forgotten. On the upside the steak was good. For this standard of restaurant we expected better. Shame.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came down on a Sunday for one night and found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and had a beautiful bathroom. There was a well stocked mini bar and even an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe. The one thing that we weren't content with was the lighting in the room. It was very dim even with the two bed side lamps on and the bathroom was no brighter, with no window. Not good for ladies doing their make up. However the hotel is in a prime position in Brighton and we would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex By The Sea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Simon Maguire has recruited a superb team of staff in all departments. Reception staff are attentive and helpful and the restaurant staff always helpful and willing to go the extra mile to ensure maximum customer satisfaction. Smiles greeted us at all times of day and we had a really enjoyable stay at this top hotel,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night for a last minute weekend away to Brighton. Staff were extremely friendly on arrival and offered to help with luggage etc.

We had booked in for a wine tasting session with the hotel's extremely knowledgable sommelier — Ziggy was both insightful and entertaining, introducing us to some delightful wines neither myself or my partner had tried (or even heard of) previously.

We were in a standard room (Brown Brothers) towards the back of the hotel. The decor was great (possibly recently re done as it did look nicer than in the photos on here). And the Juliet balcony was a nice addition (especially considering the great weather)

We dined elsewhere but the bar had a great atmosphere — pretty busy (as it was a Saturday) yet the service was still fast.

Looking forward to spending another weekend on the coast soon and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.