We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lobby bar and restaurant; rooms OK; no valet parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice lobby bar and restaurant; rooms OK; no valet parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Du Vin on the recommendation of a friend. We loved the location, just off the Brighton sea front and at the edge of The Lanes. The staff were very friendly, and we very quite impressed with the very large lobby bar and restaurant. We did not eat at the restaurant as it was fully booked on our arrival. It appears that many locals eat there so if you're planning to stay we would recommend you book a table ahead so you have the option. We wound up eating at the Indian restaurant across the street that was very nice and which we would recommend.
The room was "OK" - clean and well appointed, but a bit boring. The ensuite bath and shower, however, were very nice. Note: there is no lift, so you must be able to carry your own luggage up the stairs. The parking arrangement is at a public garage about a ten minute walk that seems like twenty when it's raining. This hotel's rating would definitely go up if they added valet parking!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    237
    122
    62
    23
See reviews for
70
442
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have been wanting to stay at this hotel for a number of years and as I was on a work conference on the Friday/Saturday, I decided to stay here on the Saturday night as a treat. Initial impressions were really good, the girl at reception was very helpful. The room was on the courtyard on the ground floor but the room itself seemed ok, it had a Nespresso machine, good hairdryer (important!) and the bathroom was really good, but i just wish I had laid on the bed before I had gone out for the evening! The mattress was so thin and I felt like I was lying on springs all night, I hardly slept as a result. However on checkout, the reception girl was extremely apologetic and explained that they had a new mattress supplier (the mattress was new!), so hopefully this is rectified. The hotel bar is lovely though and candlelit at night, the breakfast was also good and quick. Overall an ok stay but really disappointed with the bed. Also, the curtains didn't even close properly, not good when on ground floor! I am not sure I would stay here again as very expensive for a bad nights sleep. A premium hotel should provide the best facilities if charging top whack.

Room Tip: Don't chhose the Catina room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've stayed in many Hotel du Vins and know what I'm entitled to expect.
This one got it wrong from check in to check out. The problem was with the management........ the staff were hopelessly inept due to lack of training, and the manager was only interested in answering the phone to take bookings. 15 minutes to check into two prepaid rooms, and 25 minutes to check out with just a couple of extras. The queue was building up to the point the reception area was almost crowded!
My room was on the ground floor across the courtyard, noisy at 11pm and at 6am. Hotel du Vin in style, Brighton boarding house in quality.

Room Tip: Get one at the back, away from the bin wagons on the side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of hotel du vin in Brighton is pretty good in that it is central and at first glance it seems really good. But then it goes a bit awry.

When I was shown to my room (very polite on reception) the two (?) staff kept emphasising the fact that the room had an nespresso machine. Very odd. Personally I don't drink coffee so that was annoying and then I had to hunt for the kettle as then nespresso machine's status must not be overshadowed by a basic such as a kettle so it was hidden away.

The room itself is spacious as is the bathroom. It looks good but basics are missing. As a lady trying to do her makeup, the lighting in the bathroom is horrendous and the mirror is over the sink which is set away from the wall so you have to élan toward the mirror bending at an angle of 45degrees from the waist or you have to stand at the side of the sink at lean to your left ian bizarre and uncomfortable fashion. There is nowhere near the sink to hang your hand towel either.

The room service menu is VERY limited.

The bar area is ok if you get one of the soft armchairs but those leather bench type seats by the wall are truly dreadful. Concrete would be softer.

Breakfast had a good selection of breads, pastries and cooked options and the granola was rather tasty. I had hoped to have breakfast in my room as a treat but they won't send a cooked breakfast up.

I didn't sleep well at all as the bar downstairs is 24/7 for residents so there was noise into the early hours. Then I was woken by clattering outside at the back which went on for over an hour. They were sorting out the bins for bin day at 7am which is really inconsiderate as the bin lorry didn't arrive until 9.

I have to say I had been really pleased to be staying at hotel du vin but was really disappointed. It's not romantic, it tries too hard (and fails a lot of the time) and it's missed the mark. Such a shame,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This Hotel used to be our favourite place to go with our little dog as it was comfortable and we were always made welcome. Well they have changed the sofas and layout of the bar area and now it is just uncomfortable . The long leather sofa against the wall is so hard and uncomfortable we just wanted to leave as it was just not relaxing at all. They used to have lovely squashy chairs and we would love to spend an afternoon there with a couple of bottles of wine but after visiting there yesterday just really do not feel like going back. Not sure what they were thinking when the decided to get rid of the old furniture, as they really have ruined it. Such a shame!!!! Very disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I was here for a 2 night stay and on arrival thought wow - location, room, ambience, it's a winner. However, Tuesday night appears to be student night at the club up ship street and hotel du vin is between there and the taxi rank. Lovely sleep till 2am! Others in the party asked to move rooms but as Wednesday was quiet I was glad I hadn't. Room was large with walk in shower and roll top bath but....how do you put on make-up when the two mirrors in the room are in the dark and even someone 5'9" can't reach across the large bathroom sink. Great coffee machine, milk in fridge, iron and good magazines. Cocktails were great if a little expensive, service great in the bar and we were provided with chilli popcorn that the chef had been experimenting with (maybe a bit more chilli). For breakfast I discovered eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. Loved it and I don't like eggs! Would I go back? Location is great, rooms are great but I may forgo the flash room at the front for a quieter one

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel du Vin, like its partner Malmaison, is often housed in a quirky or historic building, and this is no exception. Around 100 yards from the seafront, it's not a place for those with difficulty climbing stairs (no lift), but he rooms are large and have all you need. The drink prices are not cheap, but then it's a hotel, not a pub. The breakfasts are superb, and worth lingering over. Wifi is free (good) but very shaky (bad). Overall, great value.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.