We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and close to all amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Friendly and close to all amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Took a break at short notice to Hotel Du Vin, Brighton. Check was very pleasant and receptionists were very helpful.
Rooms were not of a large size but when you are this close to the sea and centre it was a good compromise.
prices for drinks are quite expensive but bar area and courtyard are very pleasent.
Staff very friendly and helpful, would definetly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    237
    122
    62
    23
See reviews for
70
442
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'd stayed at the Hotel du Vin in Brighton before and liked it a lot, but this time it didn't win me over - and I'm not sure I'd stay there again.

I had a courtyard room - and staying in it myself I really didn't like the darkness they have in daytime and the need to keep the lights on in mid-July. It's also not good having people sitting close by drinking in the public areas and able to walk right past your window. Noise was manageable, but the courtyard drinking areas weren't closed at 10.30pm as implied.

The welcome was pretty perfunctory along with a request for a credit card guarantee even though the room was fully pre-paid; and the 'included' breakfast doesn't include the cooked options.

On the plus side, beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are great; but air-con was noisy.

All in all, I wouldn't say this was good value at a price well above £200; and I suspect Hotel du Vin need to freshen up their rooms and their approach.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have just returned from a night at this hotel, together with my son and his wife. My husband was unwell on arrival at noon, (check-in is from 3pm) and just wanted to sit down and watch the TV while we went looking around The Lanes. A young lady on reception went out of her way to find a public room which wasn't being used and where he could sit quietly and watch TV. When we returned at 2pm and asked if either room would possibly be ready the same lady checked and found out that ours was, a young man then said he would go and find my husband and take him and the bags to the room. By the time I got to my husband the young man had appeared and was true to his word. Everything has been said before about how nice the rooms are (although a mirror to do your make-up/shave in our room, Swiss Wine, would be appreciated!) - and they do vary in size - ours was generous and had a side sea view if you looked, but my son's, Torres, was smaller with a view over roof tops, dinner was good, breakfast excellent - the best breakfast we have had anywhere. In fact we have stayed previously at another hotel in Brighton and came here specially for the fantastic breakfast, so we knew it was good. My son could not decide what to have and the waitress kindly agreed to allow him to have a piece of French toast as well as his Eggs Benedict - I realised afterwards I had been charged £16.95, the cost of a cooked breakfast, for this - however it was refunded when I pointed out that had I been made aware of this he would not have had it! It was nice to feel cared about by the front of house staff who are exemplary and also by the lady who dealt with my email about the breakfast charge when I got home. Thank you to those involved, you are a credit to Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Checked in on Sunday with my boyfriend and dog. Greeted very warmly by the chap on reception he explained in detail where we could park and showed us to our room 'Hammerpot'. I loved the fact that the rooms are named not numbered and we were given a key not some silly card which never works! Room was clean, bathroom impressive and catered for our spaniel with a bowl and bed- bonus!
We set off for a wander round Brighton, the hotel is in such a fab location so we could find the 'Laines' and sea at ease. After a few drinks on the beach and a potter around the beautiful shops we headed back to the hotel and ate in nearby 'Pub du Vin' which was fab!
I'm really surprised that some reviews are so negative particularly about the staff. Every member of staff were so pleasant and welcoming.
Recommend this hotel for the location, staff, room and food, also the way they treated our little cocker spaniel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

About 15 minutes walk from the train station, easy to find and right next to the beach and the lanes (shopping), this hotel is perfectly located for a tourist visit. The Pavillion is only a 5mins walk away. However, the hotel feels a little dated, the Superior room on the small side, and if you book bed and breakfast, it only includes continental without this being made clear (we only found out at check out when we noticed a £5 charge for a cooked dish).

Staff were friendly, but having stayed in many hotels, big and small, this place did not quite live up to our expectations (this is our first HDV stay) and we feel it is slightly overpriced for what you get (probably paying for the brand rather than the actual amenities).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwood
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel du Vin's multiple times, but our experience this time was awful. The short version is the staff were all very young, laid back, and seemed not to care. The property is nice and the rooms although on the small side are very well appointed.

We were staying at the hotel for a wedding on a Saturday. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and found it very hard to park outside due to the limited drop off area (the hotel has no carpark). Once we got inside the hotel we were made to wait to check in as they only had one member of staff on reception. After getting to our room we went down-stairs to the bar for some food. The service was pretty poor from a generally disinterested guy who was more interested in chatting to other members of staff than from taking our order. The next meal we ate in the hotel was breakfast - once I managed to order it took over 30 mins for the meal to come and again the general level of service was poor. The wedding was well organised and the staff working the event were brilliant, however the next day over 8 guests had food poisoning (including the bride). I told the lady on reception that I had been sick throughout the night and she said that she had heard of 6 other rooms checking out that also had been sick. The manager turned up and told me I HAD TO FILL IN A 12 PAGE FORM! I told him I did not have to fill in anything, but would be writing to their head office the next day. He brought me the form anyway, which turned out to be 3 pages and only about 6 questions and I have yet to hear back from them. Not once did I receive an apology or an offer of a refund. It also turns out that I overpaid for my room as all the wedding guests had been given a group rate which had not been applied to my room. It is no wonder that the company that owns Hotel du Vin have gone into administration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel du Vin, Brighton several times now and it is always a joy.
We were well looked after by the staff, professional, respectful, friendly and efficient especially Yukari who sorted out my on line booking problem (totally my fault) without any issues at all. Many thanks for that.
Rooms are beautifully appointed and very well decorated. Bar is brilliant and the refurbishment of this old building has been done really well
Go and enjoy this place as we do. Will never stay in another hotel in Brighton again: has to be Hotel du Vin every time

Room Tip: All good but if you have the suites which are alot more money you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.