We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar

Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar
199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 958242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Well, that time has arrived. We are back. We look forward to seeing new and old customers again in the this the new season 2014.This year we are offering Fresh Jersey Oysters, complimented by our very own Homemade Lime & Chilli Dressing. The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster bar is based on Brighton beach at the Fishing Quarter & opposite The Old Ship Hotel.We are easy to find, just look for the 2 Union Jack flags flying either side of us. If they are flying we are open...Please be aware we do not take bookings as we are not a restaurant..Please check out our new website for more information about us & of Brighton
london
1 review
“seafood by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

the seafood is fantastic we are over from perth western australia on holliday and we love our fresh seafood make sure you visit this one for the best takeaway seafood just along from brighton pier the staff are very friendly athe outlet is very clean and tidy and there is a good selection of sauces and the selection of seafood including chilli prawns are awsome well done 10/10

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindajean1957, Owner at Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many thanks for a great review. We thrive on great reviews here on the beach. I am so pleased that you took the time to rate us . I hope you also enjoyed your time in Brighton.
Regards Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    49
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you're after something simple to eat while walking by the sea, then this place is just perfect. Lovely and fresh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I am so pleased we impressed you on your visit. Please tell others . All your comments are so welcome.
Many thanks
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oysters and fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fresh Oysters with their home made lime & chilli sauce is my kind of thing. Even the small seafood pot with squid, mussels, octopus and prawns is delicious.

If you like your fresh seafood this stall is a must.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for a fantastic review . I lovea great review . I hope you will come again as we always strive to do better.
Regards Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOTTA LOVE THE PRAWNS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the shell fish bar after my mother telling me that I would love the food, she was right!
Me and my boyfriend each had a pot of prawns each.him the chilli prawns and mine were normal prawns which I then had the choice of around 10 sauces!!!! The home made chilli and lime sauce was to die for:-) will defiantly be back every time I go for a walk in Brighton.
Owners of the bar were lovely and very chatty:-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I love a great review. Thank you for taking the time to do one for us. It makes working hard to make it just right matter
Many thanks
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to re visit for the best shell fish in Brighton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Once again a stroll along the seafront as the sun was shining we stopped and had a large pot of whelks which were lovely and fresh & my partner had the fresh oysters with home made lime & chilli sauce.
It is always a pleasure to visit as the food is well presented & is spotlessly clean.
They are a lovely couple who advised us about all there homemade sauces .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonShellfish, Owner at Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
It is always a pleasure to know that valued customers are coming back year after year. It is a great please to recieve yet another great review. It tells us we are doing thins just about right. many thanks
Cliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.