We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adorably elegant Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Pavilions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brighton Pavilions to your Saves list
Brighton Pavilions
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Charlotte St, Brighton BN2 1AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Aylesbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An adorably elegant Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

This was our first time staying at this Hotel. We were intrigued by the themed rooms and decided to try the Garbo room. It was adorable. The proprietors were very welcoming and helpful. We found the service at breakfast and the food to be of a very high standard. This is a pleasant and well presented Hotel that is very different to anywhere we have stayed before. We highly recomend that you go and stay there and find out for yourselves.

  • Liked — The themed rooms.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    46
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
272
31
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

I like this hotel so much I've now been there four times, and it's good every time. The rooms are physically quite small but you feel as if you have lots of space because they've been designed and decorated so well. This last visit, we tried out the Mikado room; but we've had good times in the Garbo room (dressed in thirties clothes) and the Camelot room (dressed romantically), the Pompeii room (we didn't try dressing like Romans... it was winter). The owners never bat an eyelid and service is always impeccable. A fantastic place for a dirty weekend, a romantic break, or just somewhere near the beach if you want a few days in the sun.
And Brighton's lovely. If you are planning a visit, stay at the Pavilions.

  • Liked — The themed rooms are fantastic - that's what keeps making me come back
  • Disliked — A little refresh on the decor in the hallways might be good
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Have just spent two nights in this beautiful hotel with family and could not recommend it more highly. Stayed in the Royal Pavilion room and the attention to detail and hospitality in general is outstanding. Will recommend to other friends and return again on our next visit to Brighton. Thank you so much!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect....nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Had a most enjoyable stay at the Pavilions thought it was excellent value for money .Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
the rooms were small but immaculately clean and had everything that we required.No toilet but that was a minor "inconvenience" and I booked the rooms in advance knowing that it was a shared loo. The breakfast was most enjoyable and loved the little patio at the back .Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

After years of trawling through the internet trying to find a decent b&b in brighton, I have finally cracked it. Our hosts Ken and Phil gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our beautiful room overlooking a delightful garden area. The themed rooms add a sense of fun to your stay and are not tacky and cheap like some of the other themed hotels in this area. Brighton Pavilions is a real treasure tucked away in Charlotte Street, Kemptown and only a 5 minute walk from the shops and restaurants of St James Street and Kemptown Village. A delicious breakfast prepared by our hosts worked a treat for our mild hangovers followed by a morning stroll along the seafront. I highly recommend this hotel for your next seaside retreat. You most certainly will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

I was persuaded by reading trip advisor reviews to try this hotel. I had planned to stay at one of the 5 star establishments in Brighton but poor reviews indicating 'chain fatigue' prompted me to try a boutique hotel and I was not disappointed. I first stayed in a one bed room (the Monaco) which had everything I needed (apart from a loo) then upgraded to the Pavilion two-night special with all the trimmings (and my own loo - what joy). Everything was clean and tidy and the breakfast was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. The only reason it doesn't achieve a five star rating is that it is a bit pricey. Note too that there is no lift and so if you're not too good with stairs you may want to request a room nearer the ground floor.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night April 2007 and had a truly lovely time. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, (despite us turning up quite late) and rooms were clean, charming and cosy. Easy stroll or cab ride from the centre and I would certainly recommend it to anyone spending time in Brighton.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brighton Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton Pavilions

Address: 7 Charlotte St, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Brighton's finest boutique B&B's offers luxurious themed rooms at affordable rates. Located in an 1820’s Regency Townhouse with 10 chic rooms, all providing free WiFi, telephone and mini fridge with complimentary mineral water, soft drinks and chocolate. Ideally located near the seafront and 5 minute walk from the city centre. Perfect for those seeking a short break with a touch of luxury, efficient accommodation and excellent service. Two night bookings in a 4-poster include room service breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Brighton Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.