We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Green Bottles

Ten Green Bottles
9 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
01273567176
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: You can buy to take home or choose from our extensive selection by the glass, accompanied by delicious cheeses, charcuterie and bar snacks. We hand pick the vast majority of our wines and import them directly from the vineyard. These are exclusive wines you won’t find anywhere else. We are always happy to host private wine tastings, parties or just a damn good glass after work.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

A first class establishment. Was only in Brighton for a couple of days, and ended up going twice! In the evening it was both busy and cozy, and we booked for a wine tasting session a day later. The session was brilliant, me and the missus aren't wine snobs at all, but it was really relaxed and fun, and the guy spent an age with us chatting about each drink. I couldn't recommend this place higher, brilliant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a wine bar should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a fantastic place. A proper wine bar with very knowledgable staff and a superb selection of wines. The tasting menu was quite brilliant including the quiz to see if you could guess the wine. A nice touch is the reduced price off sales if you really liked something that you tried.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great light lunch find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We entered primarily to look at the wine to buy, but thought we'd try a light lunch.
We had lovely sharing platters of cheese and meat, choosing six from about fifteen assorted artisan cheeses and meats. Drank a bottle of one of their wines that we'd seen in France.
What started as a quick look for a bottle or three ended as a most enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“2nd time here, will come again when we are in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

2nd time here, we had the tasting experience again having enjoyed it the last time. It was great to see that the concept hasn't changed since last time, and the staff are as enthuastic about their wines as always. We had booked a table prior to going and got there at 5.30pm to it being full!
We loved the variety of wine, with the staff going out of their way to change the last tasting as I hadn't enjoyed the previous red. A unique way to spend a couple of hours, and a better way to taste good wine!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wine heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Ten Green bottles is an obvious idea - a wine shop where you can sit and drink wine, yet the idea is still rare. The selection of wines is superb, and the knowledge of the staff excellent. We stopped there on a rainy afternoon just to buy a bottle or two, and stayed for two hours dam long the wares. It's welcoming, comfortable and fun. If you're in Brighton, pay them a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Green Bottles also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Ten Green Bottles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Green Bottles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.