We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God there bread is good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Patisserie

Real Patisserie
34 St George's Road | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1ED, England
+44 1273 609655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Bakeries in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Restaurant details
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“God there bread is good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Simply the best fresh bread get there early so its still nice and warm. There coffee is also pretty good. They have a massive selection of fresh cakes and patisseries as exspected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRealKT, Owner at Real Patisserie, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
That was always the vision for this shop, to get the food straight from the oven to the shelves!
It is good to hear you are enjoying it, makes it all the more worthwhile.
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“How much for a loaf of bread?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Having resisted for about a year, I finally gave in. At 3.20 GBP for the mixed cereals loaf its expensive - eye wateringly so.
But they do taste good!! The Quiches are a little variable - sometimes great , sometime so-so.


I'm trying to stay away from the rest ....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRealKT, Manager at Real Patisserie, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for coming in and giving us a try and I am really pleased you enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I think you picked the most expensive loaf we produce! We do have a variety starting from £1.60 up to £3.15 for some of the larger 800g loaves (however, I do appreciate they are not always available if they have sold out).

In regards to the quiches, I have passed on the feedback to the Savoury Team, as they are always striving for excellence across the board.

Thank you for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best bread in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Once you've eaten bread from here, you will never want any other! This is how bread should be made, with care and attention. I'm not sure of the exact processes involved, but I know that this bread and the other delicious morsels have been made onsite, using traditional methods. I'm sure a lot of companies claim to use 'traditional' methods, but I have never found another bread outside of France which tastes as good as this. There's a variety of different loaves and baguettes on offer (white, brown, seeded, rye) as well as fantastic croissants filled with bechamel sauce, cheese and ham. The patisserie tarts and cakes are feather-light and beautifully crafted. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRealKT, Manager at Real Patisserie, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time so write such a lovely review. We all strive hard to produce top quality products, so it is great to hear you enjoy them.
I hope you will be back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent bread, coffee and quiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We buy our bread from here every day & it's delicious. Can especially recommend the seeded. Arrive early in the day however, as they sell out relatively quickly. Also, a much better coffee shop than "Grounds" an actual coffee shop next door.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRealKT, Manager at Real Patisserie, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for such praise! It's greatt to hear as our aim at the bakery has always been to offer fantastic, fresh food for the community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I usually use the real patisserie as more of a shop than an eatery but the food is to die for. The chewy brown is the stuff of Brighton legend, the best bread I have ever tasted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Patisserie also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Real Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.