We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talk of Tea

Talk of Tea
26 Spring Street, Brighton BN1 3EF, England
01273 748444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 875 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Talk of Tea is the new Tea House in the centre of Brighton with the largest selection of loose leaf teas anywhere in town. You can either enjoy it in the Tea House or take it home with you. Lovely afternoon teas and a freiendly atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found Talk of Tea through a post card in the reception of our hotel, and I'm glad we did. Our weekend in Brighton was a little treat, and afternoon tea before catching our train back to London on Sunday was the perfect way to round it off.

TofT is basically the front room of a little terraced house, with a few tables and a little counter. The decor is quite whimsical and mismatched and the overall effect is very relaxed and comfortable.

The afternoon tea is £17.95 for two and includes your choice of any loose-leaf tea on the extensive menu (with free refills), a sandwich each made to your specification, a warm scone with clotted cream and jam and your choice of cake.

The sandwiches were excellent, as were the scones, all warm and crumbly, and the cakes were very moist. I had the chance to sample a tea I hadn't tried before (Ceylon Silver Kandy) which was very pleasant, and my husband opted for the old standby of Earl Grey.

All in all, highly recommended if you want a quiet relaxing afternoon tea away from the crowds.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    7
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tea-lovers delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've been visiting Talk of Tea regularly for the last six months or so and seem to fall in love with it a little bit more every time! Never come across a cafe or tea-house with a better selection of teas, including very unusual blends I've not seen elsewhere. Their toasted sandwiches are delicious, and the interior is superb - it's snug and attractive. The staff are always very helpful too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place to collect your thoughts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were recently in Brighton to visit our daughter who was attending University of Sussex. She took us to Talk of Tea her favourite tea shop. The tea, scones and cakes were fabulous and the service made us feel like family. The key thing for us was the relaxing atmosphere. We loved our visit and next time we are in Brighton will definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Talk of Tea offers an almost unbelievable choice of teas, home made cakes and a wonderful ambience. It is rather small and my only concern is that it will become so popular it will be difficult to get a seat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Tea 4 2 -just perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just like being in your front room. Friendly advice, great range of teas, some delicious cakes. You can easily lose 2 hours just popping in for a cuppa!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talk of Tea also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Talk of Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talk of Tea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.