We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away from London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornel's Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Cornel's Cafe Bar
Saint James's Street, Brighton, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away from London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent a weekend in Brighton with friends and visited Cornels for lunch on Saturday the 12th. I would like to say that although the barstaff were a little slow the overall service was to a high standard. The food was very good and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere Cornels gave off.

We didnt order the most extravagant food but for a full breakfast it was presented well with what i could tell was good quality and fresh food.

My friends and I will be visiting Cornel's again once back from London.

Thank you for a good start to our Saturday!

Chris

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    18
    20
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Engand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First time visit, unfortunately probably my last visit. The cafe looks good inside and the food was OK, but service was a shambles. The waiter slowly wrote down all the details of a simple order but then came back 5 minutes as he was "unsure". The order was very slow to arrive despite only about 4 other customers there. The prices were high and the portions small.

The cafe is at the far end of St James's street from Old Steine, so not the most central location - there's lots of other places to eat as you walk here from the town centre.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Food!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the first time we have been to this place, we both has a very good full English.. we can highly recommend this place, has a great atmosphere, staff were quick and polite, our food was good quality and piping hot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service, had nearly nothing on the menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Didn't have the wine we wanted, didn't have any 3 of the beers I wanted. All 3 meals were either under or overcooked, 2 arrived incomplete, service was verging on the fawlty towers and so so slow. To top it all off we were overcharged and had to wait AGAIN while they worked out how much they owed us. Such a shame.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service was comical”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have a flat just around the corner and would love this place to be good, especially given the scruffy place it replaced but no chance. Our last visit was mid week lunchtime and the place was almost empty. Two coffees, a sandwich and a panini. Coffee came quickly, sandwich took a while so coffee already going cold but the panini took over 40 mins - despite us chasing the waitress. We were given some story about one thing being prepared in the bar and the other in the kitchen being the problem - ridiculous. In the end my wife simply cancelled the panini as we had to get back to work. I get the impression who ever runs/owns this place simply can't get to grips with the systems/processes or doesn't have the required experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornel's Cafe Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornel's Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.