We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanmer House

Stanmer House
Stony Mere Way | Stanmer Park, Brighton, East Sussex, Brighton BN1 9QA, England
01273 680400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #419 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

WoW!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you to all the staff at Stanmer House for a wonderful night in celebration of my parents 44th Wedding Anniverary!! Service....excellent (thank you Ellie!!!!), food....excellent, ambience......excellent!!! Will and shall continue to recommend to friends and family :o)

Mike Holland......Ellie our waitress was a superstar! From greeting us at the door she made us feel extremely welcome, took particular care of my parents and family and will be sure to ask for her in future visits.

Thank you all!!! :o)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    77
    62
    59
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best roast in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

For me, and for many Brightonians, Stanmer House is remembered as the 'spooky house' that once stood derelict. It was such a shock to hear from one of the waitresses that the house would have been bulldozed if it wasn't for Mike Holland.

On our third visit to the house on Easter monday it was the busiest we have ever seen it. So, we were ever so lucky to find a comfortable sofa near the bar.

The friendly waiting staff not only provided us with drinks but also managed (amongst the hoards of customers) to give our dog a water bowl, for which he was very grateful after his long walk in the park.

It didn't me take long to decide on the Roast Sirloin of Beef, accompanied with cooked-to-perfection courgettes, baby carrots, roast potatoes and gigantic yorkshire pudding.

We didn't think that we could fit in any more at all but after relaxing on the sofa we decided to see the pudding menu. Reasonably priced, for under £6, I had a beautiful Creme Brulee that disappeared within seconds.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet buit very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited on a Monday. The food was fabulous, not quite fine dining, but nevertheless it was tasty, beautifully presented and we all enjoyed the overall experience.
With that said, a quiet Monday meant that there was no atmosphere. We were the only diners in the particular room, and the musak (background noise) was slightly off kilter, and we found it all rather surreal.
Nonetheless it was a lovely meal, and we would certainly return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Room for improvement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Birthday lunch bash with friends today; Stanmer House was the chosen venue and judging from recent and mixed Trip Advisor reports, I looked forward to the occasion with one or two reservations. Overall, the food was good but a country mile from a high-end restaurant (that I suspect Stanmer House is aspiring to be). Crayfish starter was excellent; roast pork was however particularly disappointing with lots of uncooked fat, no apple sauce and dry Yorkshire puddings. The fruit crumble dessert went a little way to rescue the meal, but on the evidence of today, I'm unable to score the overall rating greater than 'average'. On top of this, the five of us were seated at a table that was in direct line of a bitterly cold draught and I and others in our party took it in turns to get up and close the door; other guests from neighbouring parties also took turns to close the door, sending, on one occasion, a poor waitress flying with a full tray of drinks. My overall impression is that Stanmer House will trade and seduce customers into its fold with its (Downton Abbey) location but then fall considerably short of diners' expectations; this was our experience today. Would I return? Possibly, on a warm midweek day, when I anticipate that the venue would be better equipped to provide a service that is deserving of a £30-£40 per head charge. I'd like to have awarded a higher rating but the bitterly cold draught and the tepid coffee could have been avoided (but weren't).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Morning coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from morning coffee at Stanmer House.Coffee and service were good but the scones were so boring! The jam was no better! A real disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanmer House also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Crowborough, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Stanmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanmer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.