We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cricketers

The Cricketers
15 Black Lion St, Brighton BN1 1ND, England
01273 329472
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in Brighton over the weekend. Walking around we came across The Cricketers. What a lovely traditional pub. Bursting with character. The staff were helpful and friendly. My husband and i both had lunch. I had the Fish & Chips and my husband the Burger and Chips. Both were excellent. We will be back next time in Brighton.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    69
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What an amazing place, great food in the heart of Brighton. Possible the best pub grub around. We have been visiting The Cricketers for the past few years. With so much choice in Brighton it's easy to go elsewhere but this really is a top place. The food is always well presented and is excellent value for money!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just happened to come across this pub & wanting something to eat decided to pop in.
the bar staff were nice & friendly. The food was a little pricey but very good. We order a medium rare rib eye steak. It was slightly more on the rare side (I believe a good sign) but a very nicely cooked steak. My partner definitely gave it a massive thumbs up. I ordered the 'fish pie' and again it was very tasty. Nicely presented too. The mulled cider went down a treat too!
If y0ou like your steak this pub is definitely worth a visit as the chef is very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great British Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The Cricketers is a fantastic traditional British boozer. The main section at the front has character to spare and is a fantastic place to relax with a pint. And they serve Fuller's London Pride! It doesn't get any better than this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very friendly helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were staying in Brighton over Christmas and went to the Cricketers for lunch with our two children. Although it was busy, we easily found a table. There was no children's menu (a good thing I think as children's food is usually awful), so they did us smaller portions of the adult food. I had a bacon and brie baguette. The whole thing was just delicious, the bacon was really good quality, they took the fat off for me and the bread was fresh and lovely. Our children had ham, egg and chips. It was so much better than it sounds, it wasn't the normal slice of ham with a fried egg on top, it was slow cooked ham hock which literally melted in the mouth and the egg was like a scotch egg but without the sausagemeat. My husband's food was equally good. The service was excellent and I cannot recommend this place enough. It is difficult to find pubs that allow children in Brighton but to find one that does excellent food too is a rare thing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Cricketers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricketers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.