We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Warning!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Brighton Centre

The Brighton Centre
Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2GR, England
44-1273-290131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 60 Attractions in Brighton
Type: Convention Centers, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Red Warning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have just visited a wine fair at the centre & felt that I needed to add a comment. Firstly as I walked into the hall where the fair was taking place I suddenly felt dizzy & slightly nautious. The carpet is bright red & then the lights were all up full plus the stands all had their own lights. I have never ever experienced that feeling before but as I stepped on to the red carpet I felt that I may have to turn round & leave because I felt so bad. I managed to stay & enjoy the wine tasting but only by keeping my head up while walking between the stalls. I was determined that it would not ruin my day but must admit that it did spoil it..... Dizzy & nautious before even one taste of wine!

My second comment has to be about 'some' of the staff. On the whole the staff there working for the centre were polite, friendly & efficient. At the end of the day it was those that were clearing the room of people, those employed as bouncers, that ruined it. They may well have to contend with packed concerts & rowdy crowds but the way that we were spoken to & treated was not right at all. I found them very rude. We were not rowdy or refusing to leave. I found them so offensive that I feel I have to mention it....... Send them on some people management courses!

Both of these experiences tainted my whole impression if the centre.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    29
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Biggest, not best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

No heart to this venue - sound not always great for live gigs. Food and drink VERY expensive and you have to queue for ages!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Shop and Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

it is a great place to shop but also to relax after all the walking around the shops. It is an ideal place to come to when you want a break from the pier.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great concert venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Managed to get hold of a box to see a show with my friend. Drinks etc were a bit costly, but our view was great and we were really pleased to have such a good view, plus our own private disco room! Great night, we will definitely be looking at the upcoming performances and visiting again!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I took a 20 year old with special needs to see the Disney show (which was also terrible) to the Brighton Centre. She wanted a programe for the show to add to her collection. When I asked for a reciept for this as she is an adult and needed this the seller smirked, looked at her friend and laughed. The young person I was with was obviousley special needs but recognised that she was being laughed at which was awful. I complained to the Disney crew who explained it was the Brighton Centre staff who were selling the programes.

I am a Service Manager for a large organisation looking after young people with special needs and will make sure we go elsewhere in future.

What goes round comes around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brighton Centre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brighton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.