We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sussex Yeoman

Sussex Yeoman
7 Guildford Road, Brighton BN1 3LU, England
+44 1273 327985
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Sussex Yeoman is two minutes' walk from Brighton station. Great locally and ethically sourced ingredients, extensive menus, wines and real ales. For reservations please call.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I went for a late afternoon Sunday roast, and although I have been here many times before I'd never seen it as packed. Some people have written that it is the best Sunday roast in Brighton, I don't know as I haven't eaten in every pub in Brighton, but I do know that the roasts in The Yeoman are consistently good. So many places are hit and miss when it comes to food, even some well known names of the Ginger variety, but I have visited The Yeoman fairly regularly over the past few years, and it is always good.

I went with friends and we had lamb, pork and venison respectively, all with loads of veg, and they even provided extra roast spuds. The portions are a good size and cooked well, the meat is good quality and very tasty. The portions are large, and would be a struggle to finish for a lot of people. For dessert my friends shared the chocolate brownie, which is always good, one of the best around according to a friend who is an authority on these things. I had ice cream, which was okay, quite subtly flavoured.

The service was friendly if a bit erratic. I will forgive them for that though as the pub was very busy, and the main woman serving us was friendly, helpful and gorgeous, even with gravy stains on her top!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

So many pubs in brighton claim to offer the best Sunday roast. This place probably does. Small little pub up by the station offers great food throughout the week, but for choice quality and value this place will be hard to beat. Great freshly cooked food and a fair few choices for non meat eaters in our group too. Book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The roasts were really, really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Small, colourful, with a cheerful, airy, busy atmosphere. And the roasts were really, really good. For full review and photos, please click link - it will hopefully give you more of a feel for the place: http://laurabrighton.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/the-sussex-yeoman-best-pub-roast-in.html

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“3.5 really. Good but couple of things not as I like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had to book for Sunday lunch which is always a good sign. Could only get a table at midday so in a pub the atmosphere was slightly lacking but that's what you get if you turn up at 12.

Went for the lamb three ways (belly, shoulder and leg). Meat was top notch and had all the right trimmings but...

I like my veg maybe slightly al dente or crisp where appropriate but the meat was served on a artistic pile of all the trimmings. This resulted in a slightly soggy set of veg which I don't like.

The quality of meat saves it from being a 3 but it wasn't cheap and considering the meal is only meat and veg it gets dragged down a bit. Probably should have given them the feedback but a bit too late now so hey ho.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really tasty Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Yummy!!! I recently went for a Sunday roast here and it was brilliant, fantastic portion sizes, really generous with the gravy too (which for me is a must) super tasty.

The pub was packed full of other roast admirers and as this pub isn't huge I would suggest booking before you go.

Little Sunday roast gem :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sussex Yeoman also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sussex Yeoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sussex Yeoman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.