We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai cuisine.....deeeelicious "Sawatdeekah"!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Street Thai

Street Thai
5 Brighton Square | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HD, England
01273 207444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai cuisine.....deeeelicious "Sawatdeekah"!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband took me here to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary and as a trip down memory lane to remember our first date 9 years ago. It was a different (Italian) restaurant back then but the tempting aroma coming through the air didn't make me hesitate going in in the slightest! The decor, furniture and wall art is similar to a waiting room and adds to the authenticity of being in a Thai street.....vibrant, bright and colourful! The menu offers a huge choice but the difficult part is choosing what to have because it all sounds so delicious. We weren't disappointed with our choice, soft shell crab, perfectly pink beef and chicken satay to start followed by the best pad Thai and chicken main. This is a very good restaurant that does exactly what it says on the tin.......authentic tasting Thai food that doesn't bend to the Western palette. Prices are reasonable for Brighton. For a good night and fully belly expect to pay £25+ per head (plus whatever drinks you choose). Perfect for groups as well as couples and placed snugly in the middle of the lanes with a dolphin fountain to boot. If you can still walk after filling your face then totter off to the many nearby bars and nightclubs to dance the night away (should the mood take you)!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    20
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great value Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stumbled over this place, set in the lanes, by accident, liked the look of the menu and booked a table for later the same day (Friday).

Upon arrival we were seated swiftly (lucky we'd booked), and service throughout was efficient and welcoming. The cocktails were delicious and the food was impressive, good quality ingredients and great flavours - nothing insipid here. Highly recommended.

The final surprise was the bill - amazing value. We have since returned and can confirm that it was as good the second time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We fancied a Thai last night & had seen this place is quite popular - probably because it's fairly cheap. The seating (stools) & benches are pretty basic so don't expect too much comfort. The service was pleasant but really not very efficient. We asked to taste the house wine & our waitress took it to a different table. Also, we ordered an extra starter before our soups - the spring rolls turned up but we only got one soup. As for the food, make sure you like a lot of creamy coconut milk as we got it in everything (except the spring rolls which were nice). Creamy soup & creamy curries which detracted from the actual flavour of the rest of the ingredients. So maybe we were unlucky, or should have tried the stir fries instead of the curries, but this meal really wasn't our best experience of Thai food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We discovered Street Thai on a visit to Brighton and decided to try lunch there. Trendy and inviting decor (we liked the thai style artistic graffiti), good value (inc. a set menu at 8.95 for 2 courses and 10.95 for 3) and friendly service. Very tasty and we all enjoyed our food and experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Well worth a try and cheap! I had the 3 course set meal for £10 - q bargain and fills you up. I have the yellow curry - yum yum! It's in the lanes so nice to have a look around the shops first.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Street Thai also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Street Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Street Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.